jump to navigation

Coffee Mugs and Classmates.com April 25, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m so happy that my t-shirt is getting such a great response from my readers. I forgot to mention that if you buy a shirt, please email me a picture of you wearing it and I’ll post it here and add a photo gallery to the sidebar.

Also, Mrs. Fortune and Arabella asked for a mug, so I added a large mug to the shop. I only added a $2.00 profit on that because I just couldn’t see asking people to spend $15.00 on a mug. I wonder how I could add an image of an empty piggy bank to my sidebar and show it filling up as I make sales. Anyone know how to do that?

So here’s something completely dumb and juvenile to think about-why does the thought of seeing my old High School friends fill me with fear and dread? My band teacher is retiring, and there’s a party for him at the High School, and I just got a Classmates.com email from an old friend asking me to come.

My very first thought? I can’t let these people see me when I weigh 175 pounds! When they last saw me I weighed barely 100 pounds. They’ll think I died and was replaced by a small elephant.

Can I seriously be worrying about what my old friends might think of how I look? And wondering how weird it will be to see my old boyfriend Bill, who married my old best friend Kelly, the writer of the aforementioned email. At our 10 year reunion, he ignored me in a way that told me he was actually paying a lot of attention to me, but didn’t want me to think he was, you know? We dated on and off for four years, he would “go with” me, then “go with” Kelly for a while, then come back to me. How pathetic is that?

The more I think about it, the more I think that High School was a long, long time ago, and I’m not looking for any kind of validation from people I knew way back then. I’ll send the band teacher a lovely card congratulating him on his retirement and leave it at that.

Update: Are you watching American Idol? I missed Katherine, but ELLIOTT! Wow. Although I could have done without Paula crying. Boo-hoo, blah blah blah.

Comments»

1. mama_tulip - April 25, 2006

I feel the same way, Elizabeth. I have to tell myself that really, in the grand scheme of things, people seeing me who haven’t since I’ve birthed two children is *not* that big of a deal.

But I know how you feel.

2. Arabella - April 26, 2006

I’m not big on high school reunions. I’ve been a no-show for both of mine. If I were you, I would totally send a nice card and leave it at that, but that’s completely up to you.

Thanks for adding the mugs!

3. Marcie - April 26, 2006

I swear to God Paula Abdul is on drugs! And as for High School? The day I graduated I left it behind and have never returned.

4. MrsFortune - April 26, 2006

Okay, Kellee MUST go tonight, she was just incredibly horrible. And Katharine? Can we say “boobs on the school bus”? I’m sorry but that dress was hideous …

And I’m with marcie on the high school thing. haven’t gone to a reunion, done anything like that, so … but it’s cuz I’m a wimp, and I don’t think you are.

5. Nancy - April 26, 2006

I was toying with the idea of going to my 20th HS reunion next year, and actually subscribed to a listserv about it. But hearing all my old classmates talk and act like everything’s so different now just remind me that the more things change, the more they stay the same. I don’t need to relive that part of my life. I am glad I am not the only one. 😉

6. top appliance repair Houston - April 19, 2013

My brother recommended I might like this web site.
He was entirely right. This post truly made
my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

7. appliance repair Valrico free estimates - May 13, 2013

Unquestionably believe that which you said.

Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet
the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while
people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

8. seo reputation management - May 15, 2013

Great web site. Lots of helpful info here.

I am sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious.
And obviously, thanks in your effort!

9. best refinance - May 16, 2013

My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .
net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number
of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
Any help would be really appreciated!

10. Ann - July 12, 2013

I am really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

11. Helen - July 15, 2013

Hi to every one, because I am actually keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated daily. It carries fastidious stuff.

12. Paige - July 21, 2013

What’s up to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this web site; this weblog includes amazing and genuinely fine material designed for visitors.

13. Trisha - July 23, 2013

Hi there I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.


Leave a comment