jump to navigation

A Post in Three Parts:Part Two (Shiny) August 11, 2006

Posted by table4five in personal thoughts.
trackback

Subtitle, courtesy of Fancypants: Happy, Shiny, BULLSHIT. Scroll down for Part One.
PART TWO:

Shiny: One of the items in our BlogHer swag bag was a free 3-Month trial of Weight Watchers Online. It had a promotion code that needed to be entered at signup to change the cost of the program to zero dollars. It was like a sign from the heavens. I had started a new “eating plan” (sounds better than diet, right?) right before my MIL died, and had since gone waaaay off the track. But after seeing the photos from BlogHer and wishing I was happier with the way I looked, I decided to take the plunge. Besides, I’ll be 40 in January, and I want to lose 40 pounds by then.

So I enthusiastically went through the sign up process, except I made one teeny mistake. After entering the promotion code, I didn’t click the “Update Pricing” button. Without the clicking of that button, the registration program doesn’t recognize the promotion code at all, and my confirmation page showed that I was charged the full price.

I immediately fired an email to Weight Watchers Customer Service. I explained all about BlogHer, about the tote bag and the free 3-Month trial, and how I accidentally didn’t click the button, and how I didn’t want to be charged, I wanted 3 months FREE.

I was EMPHATIC in that email. I threw CAPS around as if I were punching the air for emphasis. I made sure that IMPORTANT WORDS AND PHRASES like “free” and “promotion” and “FREE” were properly capitalized. I was sure it was clear as day why I was emailing them and what the problem was.

Oh, the confusion on the part of Weight Watcher Customer Service. They didn’t understand these words I was using, like “free” and “BlogHer sponsor” and “HELP”. It took several exchanges before I finally begged for someone who could understand what I was saying to please respond to any further emails.

Today, I received an email from a wonderful lady named Rosa at WWCS. SHE UNDERSTOOD. She cancelled my not-free membership, issued a refund to my credit card, and asked me to sign up again using the free promotion code. Getting something for free and having someone go the extra mile for me? Shiny.

Comments»

1. Dawn - August 11, 2006

I am all about the free.

And good for you for making sure that you got someone who understood what you were talking about. That’s half the battle…

2. joy - August 11, 2006

Elizabeth–I did WW online, and I think you’re going to like it. . Especially the online communities that come with it (yep–even more people to meet!)

IMHO, WW is the most sane way of dieting out there-balanced and realistic–and family friendly (lord, do you thinK I might get something free???!). I did the points system–worked for me.

I’ll probably be joining you come January!

(and if you’re remotely interested in water aerobics, email me;-)

3. mothergoosemouse - August 11, 2006

Very cool! Congrats to you – I understand WW is the most sensible program, just as Joy said.

And yay for the good coffee. I asked Kyle to make a latte for me this morning before he left for work, and it was heavenly.

Still waiting on the bullshit though – don’t keep us in suspense too long!

4. Fraulein N - August 11, 2006

Yay, good luck with the plan! Also: FREE! We likey the Free.

5. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah - August 11, 2006

I’ve had trouble with Weight Watchers online in the past. I’d keep her name and number handy – just in case.

6. tori - August 11, 2006

My sister in law did/does weight watchers online and has lost a ton of weight…well, not literally a ton, but she has lost some serious weight. I think she may have lost an entire “me” worth of weight doing it. She raves about it. Good luck! But you should also know that I have seen various photos from blogher with you in them, and I don’t think you look bad at all. I can’t wait to hear about your progress!

7. jennster - August 11, 2006

waitingggggggggggggggggg

8. mamatulip - August 12, 2006

Very shiny indeed.


Leave a Reply

