jump to navigation

The letter I forgot to write. August 3, 2006

Posted by table4five in BlogHer, Family, personal thoughts.
trackback

Dear Kaitlyn,

Muffin, Mommy really really missed you while she was gone. I almost couldn’t get on the airplane, because you looked up at me from the back seat of the car, wiggling a little in anticipation of my getting you out of the carseat. I opened the back door and leaned over and tried to kiss you, but you pushed me away with your little hand so I had to hold your hands down and kiss you again. Then, when I closed the car door, you looked at me again with the most puzzled look on your face, as if to say “Mom, you forgot to get me out of the car seat.” And it was all I could do to kiss Daddy goodbye and walk into the airport alone. I took a little photo album with me, full of photos of you and the boys and Daddy, and any time anyone asked me how old my kids were, I whipped out the album and proudly showed you off. Everyone who asked got to see your gorgeous blue eyes, and your sweet blonde curls and those deliciously smoochy cheeks. But the ache, it was there in my chest the whole time. I’ve got a lump in my throat right now just writing this, thinking about it. I hope you know that it was good for Mommy to get away, and play with her grownup friends, but it was equally good for Mommy to come back. I love you, Muffin. And your brothers and your Daddy too. Thanks for letting me go away, and thanks for being here when I came back.

carseatk.JPG

Comments»

1. TB - August 3, 2006

I used to think she looked so much like Chris, based on pictures. But now that I’ve seen you in person, I see you in her facial structure and smile.

2. Mary Tsao - August 3, 2006

That child of yours is so adorable. I’d better be careful or I’m gonna want another one!

3. roo - August 3, 2006

Oh my GOD is she cute!

Have pity on me, woman! The clock is ticking loud enough as it is!

4. fizzle - August 3, 2006

So. Very. Cute. Siiigh. It almost makes me think children may not be those evil, conniving, man-eating machines I always thot they were….

5. Amy - August 4, 2006

Isn’t that one of the fabulous things about having kids… getting to leave them briefly so we can realize that, yes, indeed, we love them so much our hearts could crack wide open with it all. It was fabulous to meet you, as well, and I cannot wait to have the opportunity to spend more time together next year. πŸ™‚

6. mrsfortune - August 5, 2006

Dang, Elizabeth, you and I are going to have some good looking grandkids. πŸ™‚ Won’t holidays be fun?

7. becky - August 13, 2006

elizabeth, my daughter is a kaitlyn too! not many have that spelling though.

it was nice to meet you at blogher.


Leave a Reply

