jump to navigation

Blogher-Over, but not forgotten July 31, 2006

Posted by table4five in BlogHer.
trackback

I just got off the phone with Jennster, and we agreed that it’s just as emotional not to be at Blogher as it was to actually be there. I didn’t know what to expect, but I sure didn’t think it would be three days of constant female empowerment. Every meal, every break, every minute of the cocktail parties, there was someone to meet, to talk to, to hug.

mejenn2.JPG

I met my dearest blog friends, who I felt like I had known forever.

nrtme3.JPG

medawn2.jpg

And I met new friends that made me feel so comfortable, so accepted and appreciated.

blogherladies2.JPG
chaseelizabeth2.jpg
Now it’s over, and I feel like I’m in some kind of estrogen withdrawal. I was totally unprepared for how much energy it would take to participate fully in the entire Blogher experience. In a comment to Amy, who had said she needed to start training for next year, I suggested waking up early after drinking all night, and then standing on your feet in a sauna all day. That would be a close approximation of what it feels like to be at Blogher.

Speaking of Amy, I knew she would be friendly, but I never expected her to make me feel like I was just like her-a blogger, a woman, a mother. It was the same way with Alice, Eden, Jen and Amanda. These are who we think of as the “A-list” bloggers, yet they are not unapproachable. They came to Blogher to meet people just like I did. I heard people say they were too “scared” to introduce themselves, but not me. I figure you’re a blogger, I’m a blogger, we’re not that different. Plus Amanda was holding her beautiful daughter most of the time, and I needed my baby fix after being away from Kaitlyn.

Speaking of beautiful babies, a big thank you to Gwendomama for letting me fuss over Little E, who should grow up to marry Kaitlyn and make beautiful blonde, blue-eyed children.

gwendomama.jpg

Also, a funny story about Gwen-when I met her, she was telling a story about writing a post with the word “penis” in the title, and how she got a comment from someone who thought it was “inappropriate”. I said that she should go home and change her blog header to read “Gwendomama-Now with more penis”. Look what she did. How awesome is that??!!

One more thing. Remember when I said Amy was friendly? Well, you know a person feels comfortable with you when you get this reaction to taking their photo:

amysayshi.jpg

Comments»

1. jennster - August 1, 2006

LMFAO- love it all. fucking amy. that bitch! god i love it. i am truly in an emotional withdrawal…. like i’m coming down from a really really big high that lasted for days. it’s really hard.

2. Mommy off the Record - August 1, 2006

I loved looking through your Flicker photos! It was great to meet you if only very briefly!

P.S. Great pic of Amalah. Too funny!

3. Chase - August 1, 2006

Yay!

I found confidence at BlogHer that I didn’t actually realize I had in me. It must have been the overwhelming estrogen flow! I didn’t hump anyone’s leg (like I’d promised to do), but I gave and received a ton of hugs and made so many new friendships. And, of course, MochaMomma licked me…so you just can’t go wrong with a weekend like that!

It was so great to meet you. Thank you for dragging me to lunch with you and Elizabeth that day. I may have otherwise passed out from being so hungry waiting on everyone else to decide on something! (Crazy women!) 🙂

*big fat hugs*

4. wordgirl - August 1, 2006

Of course you’ve got photos of some of my very favorite people. My blogroll is bursting at the seams!

5. Laurie - August 1, 2006

Looks like you had a great time. I wish I could have gone, but work got in the way. Maybe next year!

6. Amy - August 1, 2006

Elizabeth, it was so fun to meet you! Thank you for being so friendly and nice and making me feel at home!

7. tori - August 1, 2006

Sounds like lots of fun!

8. roo - August 1, 2006

Your description of the physical experience of being at Blogher was decidedly accurate. My boobs are still sunburned.

I’m so glad you posted pictures! Though after looking at them, I’ve decided that I should always remember not to let my arms rest at my sides in photos. Either that, or I should always stand behind Tammy.

I’m flipping you the bird, right now.

9. mamatulip - August 1, 2006

Looks, and sounds, like a fabulous time. I’m so glad it was everything you hoped for.

10. madge - August 1, 2006

If that’s the training regimen, I’m definitely going to have to start now.

Looks like a wonderful weekend. And great pix!

11. Mega Mom - August 1, 2006

Twas lovely, wasn’t it?

12. Devra - August 1, 2006

I’m adding you to my blogroll dahling! Now be a sweety and flip me the bird so I can feel the love. See you in ChiTown, if not sooner! Keep in touch!

13. Tori - August 2, 2006

Hello Elizabeth
Everyone raved about you in the post blog-her posts so here I am, a new friend dropping by.
I agree…. everyone is way gorgeous at bogher. There was me thinking…just like you though not saying it out loud… well next year, I;ll be much thinner….
It’s not a vanity thing either. I totally understand that too. It’s about the impression you give out and how you feel about yourself.
Cute clothers btw come in all sizes – you’ve just got to go for it….
I’ll be back again.
Tori

14. mothergoosemouse - August 2, 2006

That new tagline at Gwendomama’s is classic – Elizabeth, you’re famous!

I wonder what Izzy and Dawn were grinning about…?

15. Dawn - August 2, 2006

Frankly, I shudder to think what we may have been grinning about. I believe that I faked Shanked her with a shiv later in the day.

Oh E, I heart you.

16. Nancy - August 3, 2006

Must. look. away. Pictures make me homesick for all y’all.

Sigh. Next year seems too far away.

17. Heidi - August 16, 2006

So glad you had a great time. I’m TOTALLY down for Chicago next year. It’s on the calendar.


Leave a Reply

