jump to navigation

My kids (and hubby) say the darnedest things July 24, 2006

Posted by table4five in BlogHer, Family.
trackback

Random snippets of conversation heard around my house this week:

(Sitting around the dinner table) 

Ryan: “Mom, did you remember to buy earplugs for the plane because otherwise your ears will hurt when the plane lands?”

Me: “Yes I did, honey, thanks for asking.”

Ryan: “You should buy some gum.”

Me: “Unfortunately, chewing gum doesn’t help my ears not hurt.”

Ryan: “No, not for your ears. You sit down in your seat, you put the ear plugs in, then you chew some gum and it will help you relax.”

He’s a wise one, that kid.

(We’re listening to Dixie Chicks “Lullaby”-the lyric is “How long do you want to be loved? Is forever enough? Cause I’m never never giving you up.”)

Nathan: “Cause I’m never never giving you a hug”? WHAT KIND OF LULLABY IS THAT?”

Um, the kind Count Olaf would sing to the Baudelaire orphans? 

(I had just sprayed my arm with Dream Angels “Heavenly” Body spray)

Me: “Honey, what does this smell like?”

Chris: (Sniffs) “Um, yummy girl?”

Good answer there, babe.

I know, not much of a post, I just wanted to remember those little real-life moments. I wish I had more of them written down somewhere. Like the time when Ryan was about 3, and we were driving up the highway on-ramp into heavy traffic, and he started talking to me. I said “just a minute honey, I need to concentrate on driving and then we can talk”. And he said “okay mama, you drive, and then we’ll have a little talk”.

Or the time I was feeling down and said out loud “God, I look so fat in this” and Nathan said “Mom, don’t say that. You are beautiful.”

If you’re going to BlogHer and want my cell phone number and I haven’t given it to you yet, email me. Because I want to find each and every one of you, hug you, and possibly cry a little. I leave in THREE DAYS.

Comments»

1. TB - July 24, 2006

Aww, just aww. So adorable :o)

2. mothergoosemouse - July 24, 2006

What do you MEAN, “not much of a post”?

THIS is the mommy blogger stuff that anyone eats up. Anyone with a brain and a sense of humor, of course.

Your boys are awesome – all three of them. But tell Ryan that I’ve always found a glass of wine to be significantly more relaxing than a stick of Doublemint.

3. Her Bad Mother - July 24, 2006

Cry a little. Cry a lot.

Am anticipating a wee bit o’ heart pain myself.

Will try to drink it away.

4. Mocha - July 24, 2006

We both said “snippet” today in our posts! It’s fate!

You SO have to come visit me now. This is W-E-I-R-D. Your boys are so cute.

Bobbi Brown has a fragrance that she called “Yummy Sexy” because her son and husband said she smelled “yummy” and “sexy” respectively. I love that.

5. Becki - July 24, 2006

I love the Chicks’ new CD. My kids are like my husband, though–they never listen to the actual lyrics.

6. Chantal - July 24, 2006

You’re gonna have so much fun! If anyone deserves this time away it’s you. I’m only like 5% jealous, 95% thrilled for you.

7. jennster - July 24, 2006

i am LAUGHING MY FUCKING ASS OFF at the never going to give you a hug part.. LOL

8. jennster - July 24, 2006

ps- email me your cell phone STAT

9. Belinda - July 25, 2006

*sigh*

Wishing so desperately that I would be there to meet you and all the other “yummy girls.”

10. mamatulip - July 25, 2006

I know what you mean about those real-life moments. I love it, hearing what other families say to each other. So sweet.

Have a great time at BlogHer, yummy girl. I want DETAILS when you get back. DEEEEEE–TAILS.

11. purplemoongarden - August 7, 2006

I am in LOVE with Lullaby …. and your sons misshearing the lyrics is too adorable (and hes right of course “never gonna give you a hug” makes for a lousy lullaby)

did you see the show Medium season finale — this song played in the background during some hearttugging scenes — I bawled a lot LOL


Leave a Reply

