jump to navigation

Sniff…sniff…WAH! July 22, 2006

Posted by table4five in BlogHer, Family.
trackback


I just realized that I will be leaving, for four days. Four whole days during which Kaitlyn might crawl more than a few inches forward, and might even (sob!) cut her first tooth.

Four days during which my husband will be trying to parent three children and support his father as he has major surgery at the same time.

Four days during which the big boy-things that inhabit my house will have their task-master of a father around instead of their big pushover Mom. They may find themselves watching a LOT less TV and doing a LOT more housework. Actually, that one’s not so bad.

I know what you’re going to say. Take a lot of photos with me, and call home every day. Sure, sure, fine. But that is no substitute for soft baby cheeks pressed against mine, or big crushing hugs at bedtime.

That’s it. Someone will have to hug me EVERY DAY, so that I don’t go into severe withdrawal. You’re all okay with that, right?

Comments»

1. Nancy - July 22, 2006

I’m starting to feel odd, too — I don’t think I’ve been away from Rosie at all since she was born (except when she was in the hospital and J stayed with her overnight), and I haven’t been away from Mimi overnight for over 2 years.

I think though that a (brief) absence makes the heart grow fonder. I am sure our families will be thrilled to have us back when we return. And yeah, I’m willing to volunteer for daily hug duty, if need be.

2. Lanna - July 22, 2006

I bet the short break will be good for you all. You’ll be thrilled to see each other when you get back. And you’ll have some great stories for the rest of us. 😉

3. tori - July 22, 2006

I would totally need the hugs every day too! I have only ever been away from my kids while radioactive or having surgery. Each time I have been feeling so yucky I didn’t think about how much I missed them. I can’t imagine how it would feel to be fine and away. Maybe pretty good at times. Also, when you all are at BlogHer, am I going to not have any posts to read from any of my favorites???? What am I going to do!

4. Mommy off the Record - July 23, 2006

I’ve never spent a night apart from my son before so this will be tough for me too! I got a hug for you if you need one!

5. TB - July 23, 2006

I promise you are going to have so much fun that it won’t hurt nearly as much as you think. Besides, you have to bring a ton of pictures anyway because you’re going to be showing them to everyone. You’ll be looking at those pictures so often you won’t have time to miss them :o)

6. jennster - July 23, 2006

you won’t care. LOL.. you’ll be having so much fun that you’ll be thinking “kids? what kids??? i HAVE kids???”
LOL

7. Mom101 - July 26, 2006

Oh my God, this same feeliing just hit me tonight. What if she w-w-WALKS while I’m gone? Webcam baby…I’ve got mine. You’re welcome to use it.

8. gwendomama - July 30, 2006

wow – i sure am glad i met you so little E and i could give you your much needed hugs…but if i had read this before, then i would have known to really ATTACK you with hugs and lay it on thick – the way the kiddies do.


Leave a Reply

