jump to navigation

Things to do before next Thursday July 21, 2006

Posted by table4five in BlogHer.
trackback

You’ve heard about what’s happening next week, right? This little shindig I’m going to in San Jose, where I will panic over my crappy clothes, my streaky sunless tan (CURSE YOU, Dove Energy Glow!), and my annoying personal habits.

What? You mean you LIKE people who talk waaaay too much, interrupt constantly, and have a social phobia about looking people directly in the eyes? Then you’ll love me.

I only have about a frillion things to do before I leave. Things that I should be doing now, instead of swilling coffee and checking email and um, writing this post. Procrastination, thy name is Elizabeth!

My first order of business is to gather together all the stuff I think I want to take, and then put half of it back. When I travel, I always think I will need stuff I never even use at home, like two kinds of body lotion (they have little bottles of lotion in hotels!), way more makeup than I ever wear in real life, and my smooshy pillow. I know, I can’t bring a pillow. And housekeeping will be happy to bring extra pillows, even if they have been slept on by god-knows-who with god-knows-what kind of hygiene.

My wonderful hubby has just finished rebuilding a laptop for me, with Wi-Fi and everything, although we couldn’t get it working at the hotel we stayed in a few weeks ago. Even though there was a sign on the dresser that said “Free high-speed wireless Internet access!” Yeah, not so much. You may find me skulking around in the lobby looking for someone who looks like they know how to get a wireless connection working.

I went shopping last weekend, at one of those Kohl’s 50-70% off sales that they have every week, and bought new stuff. Like BRAS! And not the kind that come in a cardboard box with a picture of a stoned-looking lady on the cover either, REAL bras. The kind that cost $40 each, except these were $20 so I bought two. Do you know how long it’s been since I had two bras that fit really well?  I did have to buy underwire, because let’s face it, the girls were riding below the crook of my elbows. Now they are lifted, and separated, and they’re real, and they’re fabulous!

Ahem. I also bought new jammies, and new cropped jeans, and cute new sandals to show off my pedicure. Sandals with wedge heels, so I will appear several inches taller, and won’t be staring you all directly in the boobs as I shake your hands. Well, I might stare at your boobs anyway, but only because you know you want me to (wink wink). Ooh, and the sandals even have that thing that goes between your toe, which I KNOW I said I would never buy, but they are comfortable! Who knew? Apparently everyone else but me.

I bought a refill for my Day-Timer, which will serve as my address book, business-card holder, boarding pass holder, and wallet. I even talked the lady at Office Max into giving me a discount on it, since I know they need to move out the 2006 refills and make room for 2007. It was only about $4.00 off, but still. I also bought software and paper to make business cards, so that I don’t have to write my URL and email address directly onto people.

I’m still undecided about what to use for a carry-on bag, and what size purse to bring. I bought a cute little tote at Kohl’s, but the laptop won’t fit in it. I may end up using one of Chris’ ugly black nylon laptop cases, plus a small purse. I know, why carry a purse at all? Because I’ve been carrying a purse every day since the sixth grade, and I feel like I’m missing a limb if I don’t. And my lips might start to hurt real bad, which means an immediate coating of Moisture Therapy Lip Balm, because I don’t want to use the community chapstick, now do I?

You know what else I need to to before Thursday? CLEAN THE DAMN HOUSE. I hate coming home from vacation to a messy house. And I know Chris will be here, but he will be otherwise preoccupied with parenting our children and oh yeah, did I mention his Dad is having MAJOR SURGERY that day? I called him, my FIL that is, and told him I wouldn’t go, because I didn’t want him thinking I didn’t care about him and went jetting off to the Coast while he laid in a hospital bed. No, he said, GO.

So that’s just a few of the things I need to do before I leave. What about you? What’s on your to-do list?

Comments»

1. Java Junkie - July 21, 2006

I cannot stress enough the importance of some clothes in your carry on, Elizabeth. Lost luggage is bad enough but lost luggage when you’re going somewhere *across the country* and will only be there for a few days is almost impossible to get before you’re home. Even if it’s only one set of clothes. Personally, I would bring a small suitcase for your carry on and stow the laptop in it amongst a couple days of clothes.

2. tori - July 21, 2006

I hate coming home to a dirty house too! Not that I go anywhere, but if I did I would clean the house before I left for sure!

3. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah - July 21, 2006

Crap. Now I’m nervous.

Cards? Do I need cards? I didn’t even think about how bad my toenails look. And clothes…

Seriously, do I need cards?

4. TB - July 21, 2006

You are on fire,Elizabeth! You’re cracking me up today.

My to-do list was much shorter before I read this post and realized that I need an address book too and possibly some new bras, although let’s face it no one’s going to see those but me and maybe Dawn ;o)

5. mothergoosemouse - July 21, 2006

You think that if you clean the house before you leave, you won’t come home to a messy house? Your husband and kids don’t create messes when you’re gone? Wanna trade families?

I’m glad you had fun shopping! I haven’t gotten jack shit done – not even my hair.

6. mrsfortune - July 21, 2006

My to do list:

1) Stop being bummed out because I’m not going

2) Stop being jealous because I’m not going

3) Celebrate my 30th birthday.

I always bring too much stuff, too. Like dozens of band-aids when I haven’t cut myself in ages.

7. Suebob - July 21, 2006

Man. You bought new clothes? Now I have to go shopping just to keep up.

8. jennster - July 21, 2006

i don’t have anything to do. i’m just coming. being me. wearing jeans and a tank top. and you will love me.
the end.

9. Mommy off the Record - July 22, 2006

I am going for a pedicure this weekend and I have to buy new sandals because I stepped in dog crap yesterday. Other than that, I think I’m ready!

Oh, except for the business cards. What kind of cards are you bringing? I don’t have any. I guess I’ll be scrawling my name and URL down on paper napkins for the 2 people who want to talk to me.

10. Nancy - July 22, 2006

Gotta do the pedicure, maybe Thursday AM before I get on the plane. Gotta have some clue what kind of clothes I’m going to pack. Waiting for a new laptop bag (yes, I’d bought one but changed my mind again — fickle me). Got blog address/e-mail cards. Got my itinerary paperwork. Need to get the digital camera and cable ready. Need to do laundry for the girls and set out 5 days’ worth of clothes for J (the one thing he would prefer that I do so he doesn’t have to.)

Must also breathe. Breathe deeply and not stress. Meditation might be good too.

11. jenB - July 23, 2006

i keep crossing things off my list i know i can’t do. i do not have time for a pedicure, must do it myself. i am not sure i have time to make or print business cards (new idea just his week for me!), and no haircut. if i were more religious i would say i am just giving it up to the lord. 🙂

12. buy cheap phentermine - February 3, 2007

buy cheap phentermine

news


Leave a Reply

