jump to navigation

BlogMe/Pieces of Sarah July 17, 2006

Posted by table4five in Blogging, BlogHer.
trackback

Today I am interviewing Sarah of Sarah and the Goon Squad. I admit I was not that familiar with her blog before being matched up with her for this, but after seeing her brilliantly designed blog header (it’s interactive! Go see!), and looking at the Flickr photos of her adorable twins, I knew I will be going back. Her recent posts include her 100 Favorite  Albums of all time, her daughter peeing in the potty for the first time (yay!), and why she loves McDonald’s Happy Meals.

We were asked to include a photo of a “piece” of our interview subject. Sarah sent me this very unique shot of her pretty, white teeth.

Sarah

Why did you choose this photo?

I took the picture of myself snarling. I’m not 100% sure why. I guess I think it’s funny when people think I’m mean or scary. Besides, pretty seemed obvious. Has she seen how pretty her teeth are? I’m just sayin’.

6. How would you describe your writing style?

I write exactly how I talk. I don’t know if you can consider that a “style” or not. The only real difference is that I edit my potty mouth a lot.

8. What don’t you write about? Anything considered a no-no in your book?

I don’t write about my sex life – mostly because my mother and my MIL both read my blog. Plus, I can’t imagine that anyone else really cares about that.

10. How do you feel about meeting bloggers in real life? Are you nervous? Will you have great expectations? What do you hope to take away from the BlogHer experience?

I’m really excited to meet more bloggers at BlogHer. In real life I have met a couple of bloggers and it has always gone extremely well. I think if you are meeting people who you read a lot it is like you already know each other. When I relocated to DC I met Lumpyhead’s Mom (http://lumpyhead.blogspot.com/) and Mommy at Work (http://mommyatwork.blogspot.com/) and now they are just my regular friends, we go to each other’s houses and our kids play together. It’s great. I look forward to making more friends in San Jose.

11. What is your favorite thing that you wrote? What got a strong reaction from readers?

I know for sure that the strongest reaction came from my post about depression. I got so much support from everyone it was wonderful. I don’t think I have a favorite post of my own. I’m always happiest with my posts when people think they are funny and then leave funny comments.

12. Have you written anything controversial? Is blogging controversial?

Blogging certainly can be controversial. My blog is generally pretty light. t I’m working on a post about why I am not a Christian that I think will piss a lot of people off, and one time I made a bunch of people mad because I talked about organic food being a rip off. Apparently people take their organic produce pretty seriously.

14. If you had a super power, what would it be?

Either telekinesis or the Jedi Mind Trick. I’m lazy and like people to do my bidding.

15. Favorite drink?

Beer. No question.

Thanks for the interview, Sarah! I really will be coming to your blog now, but only if you promise not to snarl at me!

And now, here’s the next phase of this project. I am tagging Julie, Mary, Nancy, Dawn, Tammie, and Roo.   Read all about it here, and even if you’re not tagged, please feel free to participate. The idea is that we all get to know each other a little better before spending several alcohol-soaked knowledge-filled days together at BlogHer. You can read my interview over at Fizzle’s site.

Comments»

1. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah - July 17, 2006

Thanks Elizabeth! Especially for the nice things you said about my teeth after all of that coffee and all of those cigarettes.

I’ll be back here too. I’m really looking forward to meeting you at BlogHer.

2. QofS - July 17, 2006

Sarah DOES have pretty teeth. And she’s got a great butt too.

3. Dawn - July 17, 2006

So Do I interview someone else? Or just answer the questions myself. The heat in Montreal is broiling my brain…

4. mothergoosemouse - July 17, 2006

Ditto Dawn’s question. But the heat isn’t my problem; I’m just hungover.

Sarah, very cool interview! I’m looking forward to meeting you, and you know I’ve got your back on the upcoming “why I’m not a Christian” post.

5. Mocha - July 17, 2006

Ooooohhhh. Sarah has B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L teeth. Hmmmm. Have I told you that I had braces and they don’t look near as beautiful as that beer-swilling chicka with the Goon Squad.

I was so proud of her recent post on dealing with depression. She did a wonderful job.

So did you on this project! Does anyone else feel relief we pulled it off? Geez….

Thanks for participating, Elizabeth. 😉

6. catherine - July 18, 2006

SOOO jealous of you BlogHer attendees.. and yet excited for you! And now I’m off to read your interview at Fizzle’s Site…

7. Jenny - July 18, 2006

Just came from Fizzle and read your excellent interview…now I’m off to discover Sarah.

I’m loving this.

8. fizzle - July 18, 2006

That snarl would scare an average individual. But not she of big arm muscles.

Yay, great interview. I loved getting to know all the women! Now looking forward even more to meeting y’allz. I’m not sure when I’m arriving yet, mebbe Friday a.m.? So unprepared….

9. Alison - July 19, 2006

Sarah: Good picture. I never would have recognized you.

Have fun at blogher, all. Do a shot of tequilla for me …


Leave a Reply

