jump to navigation

We’re showing the world what we’re made of July 14, 2006

Posted by table4five in Blogging, BlogHer.
trackback

Enough gloom, enough doom. It’s time to focus on something positive around here.

Like being asked to participate in what is going to be the HOTTEST THING AROUND for the next two weeks. It seems that in blogging, as in business, it is all about who you know.

You never know which of your fellow bloggers is plotting World Domination, so it pays to be nice to EVERYONE. And then one day you might get an email from a beautiful, equally coffee-addicted blogger  asking if you would like to participate in a little pre-BlogHer interview. Then she asks two bloggers who are contributors to the BlogHer network, and they ask one of the co-founders of BlogHer if it’s okay to base our button on the BlogHer logo, and not only does she say yes but she asks if it’s okay to mention it on the BlogHer site? Um, YES!!

And I might have just set a record for the most mentions of BlogHer in a single sentence.

See that button up there on the top of my sidebar? Each day starting Monday, that button will link to another of the Original Eight women participating, including the blogger who is interviewing me, and the woman many of you already know who I will be featuring here.

We will each answer five or so questions, and then tag other bloggers to answer the questions, who will then tag bloggers they know, and so on and so on. You don’t have to be going to BlogHer to participate. The button will soon be available to grab here.

Although she might not have been referring to me directly, the blogger I linked to mentioned me in the same sentence with the words “hilarious” and “talented”. I know I have been FAR from hilarious lately, and I’m still working on the talented, but I am honored, flattered and excited to be asked to participate. Let’s get to know each other better, people. Let’s share our thoughts, opinions and blogs with each other. Let’s stretch our community out to include new friends. Let’s show the world who we are.

Comments»

1. TB - July 14, 2006

Awesome, Elizabeth. Your excitement about Blogher is totally contagious, by the way. Not that I haven’t been looking forward to it, but with everything else going on right now, I haven’t had much time to focus on it. Thanks for reminding me how much fun it’s going to be to meet so MANY of the women I read every day and many more I haven’t started reading yet.

2. Nancy - July 14, 2006

That’s cool! I am starting to get really psyched for BlogHer (though like TB I haven’t been focusing on it much) — hopefully all the great interviews will help me to get in the mood.

3. Dawn - July 14, 2006

That is such wonderful news Elizabeth…and you SO deserve some good things.

4. mothergoosemouse - July 14, 2006

Fabulous idea! I love it.

And you are hilarious and talented. Don’t ever think otherwise.

5. Mocha - July 15, 2006

You ‘voice’ is so clear to me in your writing. I can’t wait to hear you tell stories when we get together.

You put the button in your sidebar? You’re so S-M-A-R-T. Then, it links to Fizzle? WOW. Genius!!

New & final email sent out…

6. catherine - July 15, 2006

I’m so glad to see the upbeat Elizabeth peeking her head out of the clouds that life has been placing above her. And congratulations on getting such spot-on recognition!!

7. Mommy off the Record - July 15, 2006

How neat! That’s awesome that you got interviewed. I’m off to read it now…cheers!

8. Mary - July 17, 2006

I’m going to do this tonight after I get home. Great idea! I need to wrap my head around the rules (haven’t finished my coffee yet), but love the idea of knowing people just a little bit better before we laugh and cry together IRL.

Oh, and people! Elizabeth is going to come hang out at my house! OMG — Be still my beating heart! Post-BlogHer hair braiding party at my house! 😉


Leave a Reply

