jump to navigation

Today didn’t completely suck July 10, 2006

Posted by table4five in personal thoughts, Photos.
trackback

Today was an okay day for me. My Dad had all of the tests he needed at the hospital, and is feeling pretty well except for being bummed out about still needing blood transfusions. His nurse said he was very anemic (but his hemoglobin was NOT two as I originally reported but rather 7.2. It has gone up to 9.5).

On the way home from the hospital, I decided to be spontaneous for a change and go do something completely indulgent just for myself. So I went and got a manicure and a pedicure. I know, watch out, I’m pretty wild.

I can’t remember my last manicure, my last pedicure was at least four years ago (sorry, Dawn, I’ll do better, I promise). I am not familiar with pedicure procedure, and was therefore somewhat taken aback by the non-verbal signals of my non-English-speaking pedicurist. I didn’t realize that instead of asking me to lift my foot out of the heavenly warm bubbly water, that she would tap twice on my leg. The first time she did it, I took so long trying to figure out why she was tapping my leg that she did it again. I’m sure after I left they laughed at the pedicure virgin who didn’t even know what the tapping was for.

I’m pretty happy with the results. Photos are on my Flickr page . But let me warn you, no matter how I held my hand out, it looked freakishly wrinkled. I am OLD, dammit. The color on my nails is “Up the Amazon without a paddle”, and my toes are “Don’t Socra-tease me”. So witty, O.P.I.

Speaking of Flickr, I would love to have more Flickr contacts. If you have photos posted there and wouldn’t mind me looking at them (I leave comments, too!), you can go to my Flickr page, put the mouse pointer over my buddy icon, and then click the little blue down arrow and select add as contact. Come on, let’s Flickr together!

Comments»

1. tori - July 10, 2006

Oooh a pedicure….I have been dying to have one again! I haven’t had one in so long I wouldn’t have known what she wanted me to do. They need to make a sign or something! I’m glad your dad seems to be doing better! I think I am still a little anemic so I am going to have to make sure I remember my iron pill today….thanks for reminding me!

2. jennster - July 10, 2006

cute!! i just got both the other day… i wish they were more relaxing, but i found myself staring at the clock the whole time. i’m a crackhead.
can’t wait for blogher!!!!!!

3. jennster - July 10, 2006

ps- the HOT PIECES OF ASS BLOGGING CREW t-shirt would be totally hot. you should make it a tank top instead! *prrrrrrrs*

4. Jenny - July 10, 2006

Ok – I totally would have thought that I had a bug on my leg. Is leg tapping a sign for “lift your foot”? I had no idea.

Good for you on treating yourself. Next you need some pretty new shoes to show off your footsies.

5. Dawn - July 10, 2006

Well, I am shamed to say that my feet look TERRIBLE right now, and I have Much work to do prior to putting my feet where my mouth is at BlogHer.

And I laugh at the OPI colors.

6. liz - July 11, 2006

Hi friend, I came over from BlogHer. I may or may not meet you — I’m still not sure if I can come for part or all of the day (family obligations).

You mentioned your son has a specific math disability — I wanted to point you to the Schwablearning site — great group of supportive folks.

http://www.schwablearning.org/

My area of well, I won’t say expertise but better than totally naive is in the area of reading disability, but I have a lot of stuff on math disability as well. Email me if you’d like some of the material I have.

Also I wanted to say that my mother died of alcoholism. As far as your nasty commenter went, here’s what I’d say to her: ” if you haven’t marched in that parade, STFU. You haven’t a clue. All the half-baked ideas you have are wrong. If Elizabeth had said, ‘I’m so relieved’ she wouldn’t be the first person to say that when her loved one with severe substance abuse problems died.”

7. TB - July 12, 2006

There’s nothing like a manicure to boost your spirits. I hope your dad is doing better Elizabeth. You guys have just been through the wringer lately. Sending good thoughts your way.

8. Nancy - July 12, 2006

Oh, I need to get me a decent pedicure before I go to BlogHer. The do-it-myself pedi just isn’t cutting it these days. I can’t wait until I can train Mimi to do pedicures. 😉

9. mothergoosemouse - July 12, 2006

Hey, I have that color by OPI – love it!

I’m glad your dad is doing all right. Thinking of you guys.


Leave a Reply

