jump to navigation

What I’m writing about now! June 7, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m sure many of you know that Blogger has been having server problems and has been down most of the day. It already ate two of my posts today. So in the interest of just getting this writing published, I’m going to combine two posts that I had planned. And possibly consider a move to WordPress.

POST #1:

I have written a post for the website 5 Minutes for Mom about the BlogHer conference. If you would like to read it, please click this link. Mine is the third post down under June 6, 2006. It is very cool for me to see myself referred to as a “Guest Contributor”. If you like it, please leave me a comment. I welcome feedback!

Post #2

Novelist Joshilyn Jackson runs a contest on her blog called Blogging for Books. It’s a very cool premise. Last month’s winner reads essays submitted on a chosen topic (this month is “Magic”), and selects seven finalists. Then, author Shanna Swendson will choose first, second and third place and send the winner a signed copy of her new book Once Upon Stilettos. If you’d like to enter the contest, write a post on the topic of Magic and then link to your entry in the comments on Joshilyn’s site. Here’s the essay I am submitting:

MAGIC

Just the word ‘magic’ conjures up (no pun intended) different meanings for me. There’s the fantasy magic of Merlin, of Gandalf, even of Dumbledore. Men with white hair and beards with pointy hats who gaze over half-moon spectacles at cloudy crystal balls or peer into bubbling cauldrons, intoning magical incantations or making dire predictions. Magical characters like them make up a shared literary history, representing the forces of good versus evil, the kindly father figure who shows up and saves the day in the nick of time.

Then there is professional magic. Doug Henning, David Copperfield and Penn and Teller create lavish stage shows that go far beyond pulling rabbits out of hats. These magicians make elephants or buildings disappear, free themselves from handcuffs and strait jackets while tied up and suspended upside-down, or while locked in boxes and thrown into pools or oceans. David Blaine produced several “Street Magician” TV specials where he would walk up to people sitting at outdoor cafes, ask them to pick a card, and then have them open a beer bottle. Inside the bottle would be, you guessed it, their card.
Is that not also magic? Or is it sleight-of-hand with better production value?

Beyond that, there is the magic believed in by children. What is the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, even Santa Claus if not a belief in something magical that can’t quite be explained? Ask a child how Santa gets into an apartment building with no chimney or how he visits every child in the world in one night, and the answer you’ll get usually involves some kind of magic. Most families I know perpetuate those beliefs in magic, at least in young children. Well, except for my best friend, who doesn’t believe in lying to her kids, which I didn’t really think about until my son was visiting her son and was shown the stash of “Tooth Fairy” silver dollars in her jewelry box. It was a little awkward explaining that one.

I don’t believe that we as parents are lying to our children when we tell them that yes, Santa did bring those presents or yes, the Tooth Fairy did take your tooth and leave a dollar. I think it is part of our common cultural history. I don’t know what happens in other countries when a child loses a tooth, but I know here in America, something magical happens. I know that Easter morning when my seven year old son saw the plastic candy-filled eggs scattered around the back yard, he came running up to me exclaiming “the Easter Bunny was here!” Who am I to shatter his belief in something magical by telling him it was really me stepping through the cold, wet grass to carefully cover the lawn with an even layer of eggs?

I always figured when my children got older a classmate would tell them the truth. But no, for my nine year old it was the Judy Blume book “Superfudge” that gave away the truth about Santa. I wish she hadn’t done that. I wish she had allowed my son to hang on to the magic for just a little longer. Also, I wish David Blaine would tell me how the heck he got that card into the beer bottle.

Comments»

1. mama_tulip - June 7, 2006

Man, I’ve only been able to read Blogger blogs through Bloglines. And forget about commenting. I’m in the process of transferring to Word Press…I hope it all works out because I’m fed up with Blogger!

And ‘Superfudge’ gave it away? I don’t remember that in the book, LOL!

2. Nancy - June 7, 2006

I don’t remember that Superfudge gave away the Santa thing, either. Of course my brother and I pretended to believe in Santa for a while after we learned the truth to take advantage of the goods (terrible, huh?)

I left you a comment on your BlogHer post. Sorry, it’s a silly one.

3. janice - June 8, 2006

Blogger sure was crazy today!! I was trying to comment on people’s blogs and it was down.

Thanks for your guest spot on our blog today – so nice to have you! 🙂

Do hop eyou join us for Tackle It Tuesday – let me know if you do and I will link to you.

4. Lena - June 8, 2006

Great post Elizabeth! I LOVE this. You are a fierce contender. 😉

5. Trisha - June 8, 2006

Wow! Go figure! For the first time in a few weeks I was actually able to access your comments. Therefore, I thought I should leave one, since I may never get here again. Good job on the blog!

6. mothergoosemouse - June 8, 2006

Love the post. I think I’m going to give it a whirl myself.

And NOW do you guys understand why I left Blogger without a word of warning?

7. halloweenlover - June 8, 2006

I’ve been thinking about leaving blogger too! I just think that typepad is a bit expensive, because I could buy an actual webpage for about the same amount.

Lovely post! Magic is a really great thing, I think.

8. Spc. Freeman - June 9, 2006

Then there is OLD-school magic–Glammer, if you will. To quote “The Gunslinger,” by Stephen King, “He darkles, he tincts.” That kind of magic, playing with the architecture of the very universe, unconstrained by the bounds of time, is the granddaddy of them all.

Oh, and hey, there’s also voodoo.

Nice to see another blogger from Michigan!

9. Dawn - June 9, 2006

Fucking Blogger. They better shape it up here. I hate not being able to get on and comment.

But, as you know, I’m a big old MAgic fan myself.

Hey, I’m going to mail you the other Outlander books, cause I have read them – and that new one Fancy pants hooked me on. I finished the first last night.

10. Self-Proclaimed Supermom - June 9, 2006

I hate blogger, hate blogger, hate blogger with a passion.

TypePad all the way baby. Reliable, easy, cool ways to set up your page 😉

11. TB - June 9, 2006

As part of my upbringing in the batshit crazy fundamentalists church, I wasn’t allowed to believe in Santa, Easter Bunny, Tooth Fairy, or magic in general. I always felt I missed out on something fun other kids had.
I should really write a post about this sometime now that I think about it. Thanks for the inspiration!

12. MrsFortune - June 9, 2006

Oh, love your essay, I hope it wins. Dumbledore is my favorite. But you forgot about the magic of advertising – you know, all those products that will take away dirt/pounds/addictions/unwanted facial hair “like magic.”

13. Undercover Angel - June 10, 2006

I never noticed the blogger problems – just lucky I guess. I dont’ think I was home that day, so that could be why.

I hadn’t realized SuperFudge gave it away… I read it when I was little. I should read it again…

My oldest son is almost 14 and he only stopped believing in Santa a year or two ago. He is awesome though. You’d never know he knew the truth when he’s around the little kids. He puts on a really good show for them. I love him for it.


Leave a Reply

