jump to navigation

114876864527673037 May 27, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Here it is Saturday night, Memorial Day weekend, and in about an hour it will be just me and Kaitlyn for the evening. My boys are going on a sleepover-fight night watching extravaganza that involves driving to another city, and my husband is going to X-Men III with a friend.

I know, boo hoo, poor me. I have to sit here in a quiet house able to do whatever I want for the evening. You might think that sounds pretty good, right? Yeah, except not so much.

So I’m surfing my way through my blogroll, and I see a link to a new site being run by Blog Explosion called BlogCharm. Get paid to blog, it says. Um, yes please.

I haven’t signed up for Google AdSense because I know I don’t click on those ads when I see them (sorry, but I don’t). I’m not making any money selling t-shirts or even by begging for donations (again, I know, boo the fuck hoo).

BlogCharm will host your blog and put a thin adbar at the top, sell sponsorships, and then split the money with you 50/50 each time your blog is SEEN. Not just when the ads are clicked. Sounds pretty damn good to me.

Here’s the thing: they want a Blog Description. I had this same problem when I registered with Technorati and with Blog Explosion. I have no idea how to write a catchy description that doesn’t make this sound like the most boring blog on the face of the planet:

“I’m a stay at home mom with two boys ages 9 and 7 and a 6 month old daughter. I’m married to my High School Sweetheart. My hobbies include blogging and reading and watching TV and shopping at thrift stores. My turn-offs include people who don’t use their turn signals, spiders, and having to clean the cat’s litter box.” Snore, snooze, wha-huh?

Please, someone with writing skills, help me. What would make you want to click on a blog in a directory? What words would get your attention? I would be eternally grateful to anyone who has any suggestions at all. And would suggest you directly to my P.R. guy the next time he has a product to give away. I’m serious.

BTW, BlogCharm is still in BETA and doesn’t appear to be going live until next March. They suggest I spend the next 10 months “building up my blog”. Like I’m not trying already. Sheesh.

Sorry for the profanity, I’m a little drunk. What, it’s just me and the baby (who is asleep, don’t call the police or anything), the house is dead quiet, so I’m drinking a beer and blogging. Like you’ve never done it.

Update: You ladies sure know how to help a woman out. Dawn suggests a BlogHer description-writing roundtable. I’m thinking after enough drinks, we could come up with some pretty hilarious (at least to us) shit.

Nancy suggests I keep “I’m trying to embrace my inner housewife, but she keeps pulling away from me”, and add “Yes, I’m THAT Elizabeth”. HA!

Roo, who’s creativity apparently knows no bounds, suggests I think of it like a movie trailer:

“In a land called Michigan…
In a time called today…
ONE WOMAN
fights for justice, a cup of coffee,
and a night of non-stop television.
And she’s learning that it’s harder than it looks to find a
TABLE FOR FIVE!

(This blog is not rated. Coming soon to an Internet near you.)”

Is that not some brilliance right there? HA! That should get me some traffic!

Check out my updated profile on the top right. I love you guys, and not just ’cause I’m drunk.

Comments»

1. Dawn - May 27, 2006

You SOOOOO Know I have done that. When my kid wasn’t even all the way asleep, I started the bottle of wine.

We should have a “write Elizabeth’s description” roundtable at Blogher. Now that would be some good shit.

2. Nancy - May 27, 2006

Sigh. Blogging drunk is fun. I am drinking decaf though due to a sore throat — although doesn’t alcohol kill germs? Maybe I should rethink this…

Let’s see… some thoughts on what you could write. I wouldn’t list the kids’ ages because they’ll change as time goes on.

Mom of 3 managing a hectic household, providing recaps of your favorite TV addictions, and…. Hmmm, need a good closing statement here. Actually, I like what you have in your sidebar, “I’m trying to embrace my inner housewife, but she keeps pulling away from me.”

And close with: “Yes, I’m THAT Elizabeth.” People who are familiar will laugh, and people who don’t know will seek you out just to find out whar you mean. 😉

3. roo - May 28, 2006

I keep thinking about movie trailers…

In a land called Michigan…
In a time called today…
ONE WOMAN
fights for justice, a cup of coffee,
and a night of non-stop television.
And she’s learning that it’s harder than it looks to find a
TABLE FOR FIVE!

(This blog is not rated. Coming soon to an Internet near you.)

4. Elizabeth - May 28, 2006

Holy Shit, Roo, you win!!!!

5. Dawn - May 28, 2006

I concur. Roo wins

6. Nancy - May 28, 2006

Roo, you are daaaaaammn good.

7. Monkey - May 28, 2006

I was gonna click on your adsense links a couple hundered times to help you get to Cali too 😛

8. Mrs. Chicky - May 28, 2006

Can’t compete with what Roo said. Damn talented person, that Roo.

Um, is it bad to drink after the baby is in bed? Nobody told me. I better start looking for a new place to live now that I’ve got to hide from the people who are going to take my kid away. Because Mama likes her wine after a hard day.

9. mama_tulip - May 28, 2006

ROO FOR PREZ!

10. Suebob - May 28, 2006

Yes, I keep thinking of BlogHer. “Hi, my name is Sue and my blog is about completely random shit that pops into my head combined with utterly silly unprofessional photographs. And you?”

11. Belinda - May 28, 2006

OK, I read, “…trying to embarrass my inner housewife.” Which is equally good, I think. At least for me.

12. Undercover Angel - May 29, 2006

Roo has a great description, I think you should go with that one. I’m so sorry I didn’t notice this post earlier – it looks like you guys had a lot of fun the other night.

I don’t click on Adsense ads either. I feel bad about it. I had them on my blog for a very short while (the first couple of weeks), but they weren’t doing anything for me but taking up space.

So you’re movin’ to BlogCharm… You’ll have to let us know when you move so we can visit you there.

13. roo - May 30, 2006

Aw! Anything for you, Elizabeth!


Leave a Reply

