jump to navigation

Poetic Justice May 25, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Breaking news: The former heads of Enron, Kenneth Lay and Jeffrey Skilling , were convicted Thursday of conspiracy and securities and wire fraud.

There were actually two trials for Lay- a corporate trial and also a non-jury trial for committing bank fraud and making false statements. He could get 45 years for the corporate charges and 120 for the personal ones. It’s apparently much worse to lie than it is to steal.

Skilling had 28 counts against him, of which he was convicted of 19. This is interesting: Skilling’s wife reportedly “couldn’t make it to the courthouse on time”. Are you kidding me? This is what Skilling claimed really happened:

“The panel rejected Skilling’s insistence that no fraud occurred at Enron other than that committed by a few executives skimming millions in secret side deals, and that bad press and poor market confidence combined to sink the company.”(Source, Yahoo! News)f

In Other News:

American Idol:

Okay, I know I said I wasn’t going to watch it, but I couldn’t help myself, there was nothing else on. Plus I got to see Chris Daughtry sing again, which is always a good thing. I can’t believe I ever thought Ace was the cute one.

What is my reaction to Taylor being chosen as the “American Idol”? America has no idea what good singing is. I’m sorry if you voted for him, really, but he has a TIN EAR. I read somewhere that his singing style was “raw”-no, his singing style is OUT OF TUNE. I just don’t get it and I never will. I’ll wait for Chris to join Fuel and then buy their next CD instead.

Lost: I MISSED the whole first hour! Chris was flipping around on the channels and I was downloading photos from the camera and all of a sudden it’s 10:00 and Chris says “honey, look” and I said CRAP!

It was great to see Clancy Brown as Desmond’s partner in the hatch. I didn’t really see the EMP crashes plane storyline coming, and who knows if it’s really what happened? And what is the deal with Penelope? What were the Russian guys at the research station talking about? September is a long time to wait!

You do know that Fraulein N over at Below The Eight has the ultimate “Lost” recaps, right? Waaaalt! HA!

Comments»

1. Fraulein N - May 25, 2006

Hee. Thanks for the pimpage. Cracking on “Waaaalt!” never gets old.

As for American Idol, I’m just glad Kellie Pickler didn’t win. Seriously, I’m still experiencing relief that she got booted off the show, weeks and weeks later. She’s that annoying. Also annoying? Those “original” songs they write for the final two. Who’s churning out this corny pap, monkeys?

No, wait. Actually I think monkeys could do a better job.

2. Elizabeth - May 25, 2006

I know. Didn’t they learn their lesson when Kelly Clarkson singing “A Moment Like This”, which is a Disney movie theme song if I ever heard one, played over and over and OVER on the radio? Gak.

3. Jess - May 25, 2006

Lost. Where the viewers are the experiment.

I shouldn’t watch that show as regularly as I do. I hate it. And I love it. I just wish the writers would take some hints from some other serial mysteries and figure out how to develop an addicting plotlins that is also satisyfing. Grrr

4. Java Junkie - May 25, 2006

I like Taylor. I’m a HUGE fan of blues, have been forever and if there was a majority music genre in my CD collection it would probably have to be blues. I don’t think he sings off key at all.

As for Chris, I actually had a dream about him last night (don’t tell Monkey though lol.)

And seeing Bucky actually made me miss him, he and his blinky eyes.

Kevin – UGH – he annoys me more now AFTER he was voted off.

Sis, I think Ace *IS* aesthetically cute but you can tell by looking at his face that he would lose a test of wits to a rock and that’s probably why you don’t like him anymore. But Chris? oh yeah baby, if I were 10 years younger, 40 lbs lighter and had no children… Oh and wasn’t totally in love with Monkey šŸ˜‰

5. mommy on the verge - May 26, 2006

Okay, I am a Taylor Hicks Soul Patrol junkie, so I will ignore your comments. I jump around the house pumping my fist, yelling ‘SOUL PATROL, SOUL PATROL!’ hee-hee.
Thanks for the link about Lost, I really wish someone would just come out with a book, explaining Lost until now.

6. Mrs. Davis - May 26, 2006

Hooray on those convictions! Glad to see someone posting about that.

I loved the AI finale. Did you know you can download epsodes of Lost from either i-Tunes or eMusic for $1.99?

7. Beth - May 26, 2006

why Taylor?!?!?

Gah! i hate him purely because he looks just like my college boyfriend gone gray.

but, really, after Chris was gone what good was Idol??

did you watch the finale of 24?

8. mothergoosemouse - May 26, 2006

Enron – that is such fucking bullshit. Let me tell you, we bought stock in that stupid company (and my husband and his senior broker partner were buying it for their clients) in those final days before all the shit hit the fan. Poor market confidence and bad press, my big pasty white ASS.

Sorry about that, Elizabeth. If I had that money back, I could have sent you AND Mrs. Chicky to BlogHer.

9. Suebob - May 26, 2006

I read the Kurt Eichenwald book about Enron…if you ever have time to plug through 450 pages on the subject, it is goes through the whole chronology.

But in the book he made it seem like Lay didn’t have a clue what was going on and pinned it all on Fastow. I almost felt like the author somehow got on Lay’s team…

But anyway I am glad to see them get what they deserved. Even if they didn’t know what was going on, they were criminally stupid.

10. roo - May 27, 2006

I hope those Enron crooks get put away for a long time.

It’s nice to see some justice actually being served.

11. Snide - May 27, 2006

I wouldn’t be suprised to see some or all of them pardoned by their good buddy GWB before he leaves office…


Leave a Reply

