jump to navigation

Pimp That Product #3-It’s a BIG ONE! May 24, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I got a new product in the mail yesterday to use and review, from the P.R. firm that sent me the redesigned Swiffer Sweeper and the Reynolds Fun Shapes Baking Cups. And all I can say is, some days it is just not too bad to be me. I give you my new toy, the Insignia 10.2 inch Portable DVD Player:


When I first got the email asking me if I was interested in reviewing it, (um, DUH), my first question was “do I get to keep it?”. Why yes, YES I DO! Isn’t it pretty?


I was skeptical of my ability to operate it, as I am generally somewhat tech-challenged-just ask anyone who’s ever had to help me fix a simple piece of blog code (pretty much everybody). Fortunately for me, it comes with an easy to read manual that points out exactly where all of the important buttons are, and how to get started. It’s very user-friendly.

I was probably more excited than a normal person should be about the quality of the picture on the screen. Our TV has the older curved screen, so I had no idea how good a movie could look on a sharp, new, flat screen. So which movie did I choose for the maiden voyage?

It comes with cables to hook it up to a stereo, but I used headphones to get an idea of how it would sound on, say, an airplane flying to SAN JOSE CA. The sound quality is very good. I’ll get my husband to show me how to hook it up to our amplifier, and I’m guessing it will sound even better in stereo.

I only have one complaint, and that is that it is very noisy when the DVD starts up. There was a loud, metallic whirring sound that I could hear until I turned the volume up pretty high. I did notice that after about 15 minutes, the whirring was less noticeable. But Insignia might want to work on making it quieter. I might not have been able to hear the noise with the headphones on and the sound turned up, but I think someone sitting next to me on a car trip would.

Speaking of trips, I’m hoping to get a chance soon to take a drive down to Toledo to see my sister-in-law, and I’ll take the Portable DVD with me and test the car charger. I’ll also test how hot it gets sitting on my lap for a whole movie.

One and a half thumbs up to the Insignia Portable DVD player. Make it quieter, and I’ll give it two for sure. You can get them at Best Buy.

And now, a shout-out to Charlie Kondek at Hass MS&L. Dude, this was AWESOME of you! Thank you so much. You know how the theme of this year’s BlogHer is “How is your blog changing your world?” I would say that I am becoming the embodiment of that question.

Oh, and for Jess and Dawn, a slightly blurry screenshot of our imaginary TV boyfriend:

Comments»

1. Mary Tsao - May 24, 2006

Wow, how cool is that!

You’re having a great couple of weeks. Hurrah!

2. Fraulein N - May 24, 2006

Okay, what do I gotta do to get free stuff? I’ll totally review it and everything!

And can you believe I’ve still not seen Serenity? For shame!

3. Elizabeth - May 24, 2006

Mary-I know! Yay!

Fraulein-I’m sorry, I don’t understand those words “haven’t seen Serenity”. Are you speaking English??! What are you waiting for, rent it now!

4. TB - May 24, 2006

Great post Elizabeth.
I have one of these at home that I am waiting to use and review on next week’s B-List Blogfest trip. (that’s if it still works after Jeff is done drooling all over it) You did a great job reviewing it and I’m going to take my cue from you when I do my write up.

5. Elizabeth - May 24, 2006

Thanks Tammie! I’m glad you got one too. The next time my family goes on a road trip, I’ll have to fight my kids for who gets to watch a movie first. WE had to play License Plate Bingo on road trips as kids, THEY get to watch DVDs. No fair.

6. rhonda - May 24, 2006

Okay, so how did you get so lucky to get this gig?

7. gingajoy - May 24, 2006

ok, so how do i get me some of this “reviewing” gig? i could use some more swiffers, or ziplocks, or electronic goods. i could!

8. mothergoosemouse - May 24, 2006

Dude. Screw the KY sensual mist and the Swiffer Sweeper. I want to review ELECTRONICS!

Elizabeth, that is awesome. Good review too.

9. jennster - May 24, 2006

that thing kicks ass! how the fuck are you picked to review things, eh?!?! whta the hell, you lucky bitch! LOL

10. motherhooduncensored - May 24, 2006

Dude. That is totally unfair. I’m so jealous. Are you bringing it to blogher so we can all see it and touch it? 🙂

11. Dawn - May 24, 2006

That was delicious….

12. Arabella - May 25, 2006

Elizabeth, what a cool toy you’ve got there!

13. Nancy - May 26, 2006

Yessss, we shall be drooling over that lovely thing at BlogHer. Yummmm.

One nice thing about my new laptop is that it plays DVDs. I am looking forward to using it to entertain the girls on our drive to the beach next week.

14. Mary - June 3, 2006

Bounced over here from Motherhood Uncensored. . . Just have to say, Serenity Rocks! That is all. . .


Leave a Reply

