jump to navigation

You MUST Read This Post! May 17, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

There’s this woman, Sue, who writes a blog called Red Stapler. She had a contest to give away free registration to BlogHer. The winner was Izzy, from http://izzymom.com. Congratulations!, right? Except Izzy had already gone ahead and paid for her registration.

So that left Izzy with a BlogHer registration she didn’t need. It was okay with Sue if she passed the registration on to someone else. Are you with me so far? Good.
____________

Ladies, I don’t know how else to say this so I’m just going to say it, please forgive me for shouting:

ME SHE PICKED ME I AM GOING TO BLOGHER HOLY CRAP I AM GOING TO BLOGHER

Are exclamation points even necessary?

The theme for BlogHer is “How Is Your Blog Changing Your World?”. I entered a similar contest at Mommybloggers, and I had to write an essay. I’d like to share it with you now.

How my blog is changing my world:

I started my blog while on bed rest during my third pregnancy. I had been reading blogs, and from paying attention to both comments and blogrolls I started noticing the same people popping up, like a community. There was a circular nature to how A linked to B who linked to C who linked back to A. I wanted to be a part of that community. I wanted to find other women who would understand me and my life.

My college degree required a lot of creative writing, and I missed having that outlet, that way to express my thoughts and opinions. Blogging seemed like a natural solution. Looking back at my first posts I see that my writing was hesitant, stilted, as if I didn’t want to inadvertently offend anyone and so was overly cautious. I have been trying to overcome that, to let the “real” me do the writing. Through my blog I have met people I would have never known existed, and I think I am a better person because of them. They inspire me to be funny, forthright, honest and brave. They encourage me, support me, and genuinely care about me. Although I have a loving husband and terrific children, my world is also a better place because I have met these women. I have found my community, a small but faithful group of ladies who have never met me but think of me as their friend nevertheless. Over time, with their support and encouragement, I found my “voice”, the voice of the “real” me.

My blog has not only brought me new friends, it has provided me with learning and growth opportunities I doubt I would have had without it. I’ve learned more about HTML Coding than I ever thought possible (it’s really not so hard!). I bought and learned to use a digital camera so I could post pictures, and often when I take a photo I’m thinking of a blog post to go with it. I designed a t-shirt to sell on Café Press, and believe me when I say I know I would have never done that before I started my blog! Finally, because of a post I wrote about a product I liked, I was contacted by a P.R. firm and asked to try two more products (sent to me for free!) in exchange for writing blog reviews.

Many of my new friends will be attending BlogHer this summer. I want to attend BlogHer this summer. I want to meet this community in person, tell these ladies face-to-face how much getting to know them has meant to me. I want them to know how much their friendships affect me every single day. My blog has changed my world; my blog friends have changed my world. Send me to BlogHer. My world will be that much of a better place if you do. Thank you.

I’d like to thank Nancy from Mom/Ma’am/Me for reading the essay and providing helpful suggestions for making it better. I’ll have to email the Mommyblogger ladies and let them know I am withdrawing my application.

I am now focusing entirely on how to raise the money for the airfare, hotel and incidentals. I don’t know how I’m going to do it, but believe me when I say I will. I will probably have to fly in Friday and therefore miss the morning session, and I’ll have to leave Sunday. So sometime that Friday afternoon, you’ll want to look for the short blondish woman who looks absolutely petrified. My God, what if I end up in an elevator with Dooce or something? Perhaps I should pack Depends just in case.

I love you, Izzy. You’ve only known me a few months and yet you picked me. Consider me your number one fan.

Comments»

1. Sue - May 17, 2006

Hey Elizabeth,

Email me at snackishblog@yahoo.com.

You can also email Elisa Camahort at BlogHer elisa@workerbees.biz to set up your registration. She knows you’re coming and it is all paid for already. She has just been waiting to hear who it is.

Yay. I’m so excited that you’re coming. I can’t wait to meet you!

Sue

2. jennster - May 17, 2006

OMG I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i won’t be there until saturday, but i will find you!!!!! YAY! this is awesome and SO ufn and izzy fucking rocks!

3. Mary Tsao - May 17, 2006

So awesome! I am totally crying for you. It makes me so happy to know that you are going to BlogHer because (a) I want to meet you, (b) you really want to go, and (c) you totally deserve to go!!

This is really great, Elizabeth. Yay!

4. Janet Evening - May 17, 2006

This is the kind of spontaneous generosity that makes a difference! Pass it on!

5. Jess - May 17, 2006

Oh Yay! You’ll have a blast!

6. Arabella - May 17, 2006

Yay, Elizabeth! Yay, Izzy! What wonderful news!

7. mama_tulip - May 17, 2006

Oh, Elizabeth, I’m so excited for you!! How AWESOME is Izzy?! YAY!!!

8. TB - May 17, 2006

This is so great! I’m all teary eyed over here :o) How awesome of Sue and Izzy to help make this happen for you.
If there is anything we can do to help you raise the rest of the funds, let us know!
I can’t wait to meet you!

9. MrsFortune - May 17, 2006

YAY ELIZABETH!!!! I’m doing such a happy dance for you right now. That is sooooooooo awesome. You’re going to have so much fun, and I’ll be there in spirit. 🙂

10. jen - May 17, 2006

Oh My GOD! that is terrific – we all knw how badly you wanted this!

Izzy, you picked the right lady!

11. rhonda - May 17, 2006

That is just FABULOUS! Congratulations 🙂

12. Catherine - May 17, 2006

Yay for friends like Izzy!! And Yay for your opportunity to possibly meet Dooce in an elevator! How exciting!!

13. Fraulein N - May 17, 2006

That’s so exciting! Congratulations!

14. Undercover Angel - May 17, 2006

Congratulations! I hope you have a wonderful time! That was so nice of Izzy to give it to you!

15. Nancy - May 18, 2006

Gosh, so late here — Izzy is amazing, and this absolutely confirms it.

And so awesome that you get to join us at BlogHer!!!! I can’t wait to meet you in person. 😉


Leave a Reply

