jump to navigation

My Favorite is “Blogtard” May 7, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Updated to add:
Use this link to compose your own message from Einstein. After reading Mom-101’s “Blog Meanies” post, I decided I’d had enough. I didn’t start a blog and join this community expecting to read about all this unwarranted hatred people get from strangers. Even though I’ve never had a negative comment, it hurts me as a human being to know that some bloggers do. And it always seems to be negativity towards expressions of personal opinions. If someone writes a blog post about how they beat their children or stabbed someone, go ahead and flame them all you want. But telling someone they are a bad mother for calling themselves a feminist or discussing post-partum depression or even joking about liking one kid more than the other (check out the t-shirts she came up with!), well that’s just a giant waste of time, energy and space.

It might seem preachy and overly simplistic, but I grew up with a giant framed picture of The Golden Rule hanging prominently in the living room of every house I lived in. I may not always follow it in every situation, but I think it’s a good place to start.

Thanks for the link, Mom-101. Mean people suck.

Comments»

1. Mom101 - May 7, 2006

You’re right–good one. Unfortunately I think the golden rule only works if you’re not a hateful, self-loathing masochist.

2. Nancy - May 8, 2006

Amen, sister.

3. mama_tulip - May 8, 2006

Mean people DO suck.

4. MrsFortune - May 8, 2006

Oooh! I like this Einstein thingy. How cool! And I haven’t been reading many blogs lately as you know but I agree. Mean people. Yuck. 😦 So far I’ve been lucky but I’m not counting on that to last much longer.

And I love the previous post, too, you are up for wife of the century. And can you come to my house?

5. mothergoosemouse - May 8, 2006

Objective, thoughtful comments that aren’t necessarily in line with what everyone else thinks – those make me think and help me learn. Gratuitous cruelty makes my heart hurt.

6. sweatpantsmom - May 8, 2006

I’m with you on this. I’ve been catching up on all the ‘hate posts’ and it’s sad what people will stoop to.

7. Jenny - May 8, 2006

well said. Love the Einstein link.

8. Arabella - May 8, 2006

Well said! It’s not difficult to disagree respectfully, and it’s amazing how few people try it.

9. jennster - May 9, 2006

LOL- fun and well said! 🙂

10. Izzy - May 9, 2006

You tell ’em, sister!

11. Beth - May 9, 2006

yes, i agree. i have always found it to be a waste of my time to be hateful or spiteful. and i try to distance my self from people who are.

and just to make sure everyone knows i’m not home polishing my halo, i *love* being snarky and dry.

unfortunately, some people don’t know where the line is.

12. mommy on the verge - May 9, 2006

if I don’t like what a blogger has to say, I just move on. No need to be a hater-rater.

13. Fraulein N - May 10, 2006

Mean people suck, you’re right. It also blows my mind how brazen and inappropriate they can be. Habitual line-steppers, these people.

14. Java Junkie - May 10, 2006

*knock*knock*knock* This thing on? I’m actually jonesin’ for your AI update! *giggle*

Love ya sis, thank you for your post on my blog.

aka mightymousemommy now on blogspot 😉

15. how do you choose your profession pocket god - May 15, 2013

hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining,
but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality
score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon.


Leave a Reply

