jump to navigation

I Really need to work on my Funny April 26, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I made a change here that I thought was funny, and I IMed my husband and said “hey, look” and he was all “I don’t get it”. Sigh.

It’s really sad when you have to include a long, drawn-out explanation as to why something is funny. Like how I felt compelled to hint that my t-shirt slogan was from a song, so people would see it and go, “ohhhh, I get it.”

Over there on the sidebar is my blogroll, under the words “People I’d Like To Have Coffee With” . Chelle cleverly designed it as a scroll-down menu inside a window, with a button underneath to click once the desired blog is selected.

God, that last sentence sounded like product packaging copy, so already not making the funny. Bear with me.

Keeping with the whole Coffee theme, Chelle suggested that the text inside the window say “Grinding the beans” and the button text say “Brew is done“. You might have noticed them if you ever used my blogroll as a quick-link to someone else’s blog. Now these are perfectly fine, and thanks Chelle, but I thought I’d try out something different. So I came up with something I thought was funny.

Remember that video that came out last Christmas with the Burger King guy singing “Would you like an apple pie with tha-at?” and ending with “Ding! Fries are Done!“? Anybody? And yes, I know it was somewhat insensitive, as the man in the video appeared to be mentally challenged, but it was still kind of funny. At least to me. Here’s the link:http://www.ebaumsworld.com/flash/burgerking.html

So I changed the text inside the blogroll window to say “Would you like a blog with that?” and the button text to “Ding! Blog is Done!“. And my husband didn’t get it. And then once I explained it to him in a somewhat shorter but still drawn-out explanation, his reaction was, shall we say, polite.

Sigh.

Gratuitous picture of the cutest little muffin girl ever. Smooch!

Comments»

1. Chelle - April 26, 2006

Personally, I think it’s great and I’ve never even seen the BK commercial.

2. sweatpantsmom - April 26, 2006

I got it! But in a more abstract sense, since I don’t remember the commercial.

But I guess I’m all about the food references. If it even remotely smells like a burger, I’ll know what it means.

3. Chelle - April 26, 2006

OMG! I guess I got confused between what your wrote: VIDEO and what my brain interpreted: COMMERCIAL. I started to watch the vid and was immediately going, “There’s no way this way on TV!” And, of course, it wasn’t.

That being said, yes, it is insensitive and yet strangely amusing. It’s also set to my very, very, favourite Xmas carol. Keep the Ding! I think it’s funny.

4. Nancy - April 26, 2006

I think guys have a different sense of humor. I was so proud of my secret agent post yesterday and J didn’t think it was the least bit funny. It was a little crushing blow to the ego, but at least some of my readers seemed to like it. 😉

Sweet picture.

5. Elizabeth - April 26, 2006

Chelle-Thanks!

Nancy-Well, I thought your secret agent post was funny! Men..hmmph!

6. Mightymouse Mommy - April 26, 2006

To me, Sissy, the thing that makes me giggle the most in your post today is that I love how much of a dork both you and I are – I TOTALLY got it right away hahaha

love you!

7. Elizabeth - April 26, 2006

Sissy! I should have known you would get it right away, dorky minds think alike, huh?

Love you too!

P.S. Did you watch it? Did you?

8. Catherine - April 26, 2006

I’m one of those people that never pays attention to commercials. But, for what it’s worth, I was checking out your blogroll BEFORE reading this post and thought the “Ding! Blog is done!” thing was clever.

P.S. — what a sweet baby!!


Leave a Reply

