jump to navigation

Pimp That Store-Why I Love Aldi April 17, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

My big task for this morning was to re-stock our pantry and freezer. A big chunk of Chris’ paycheck last week went to catching up on bills (thanks again for three fabulous months of killer gas bills, Consumers Energy), so I needed to keep the cost down. Fortunately for me, there is an Aldi grocery store nearby. I know Aldi is in every state, so if there’s one by you but you’ve never gone, you should really check it out. Take a quarter to get a shopping cart and a bunch of plastic grocery bags. They have name brands, store brands, and since the store started in Germany, European chocolate. It’s worth checking out.

As an example, here’s what I bought this morning. The receipt is too crumpled up to scan, so I’ll just make a list of the items and the total cost.

BREAKFAST FOOD
1 box Triple Berry Toasted Oats
1 box Peanut Butter Kid’s Krunch
Special K Strawberry Cereal Bars
Froot Loops Cereal & Milk Bars
30 French Toast Sticks
5 Canadian Bacon, Egg, & Cheese English Muffin Sandwiches
30 Precooked Bacon Slices
10 Brown & Serve Sausage links
12 oz. Ground Coffee
5 bananas

LUNCH FOOD
2 Turkey & Cheddar Lunchables
3/4 lb. Smoked Ham lunch meat
8 “Moo Tubes” portable yogurts
8 oz. frozen Shrimp Fettuccini Alfredo
8.5 oz. frozen Chicken Marsala with Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Individual Five Cheese Pizza with Roma Tomatoes and Garlic Pesto
2 Maryland Crab Cakes
2 “Fit & Active” ** yogurts in Strawberry Cheesecake and Cherries Jubilee
32 oz. Grape jelly
Dry Fettuccini & Spinach Pasta with Parmesan and Romano cheese sauce

DINNER FOOD
26 oz. jar Three Cheese Spaghetti Sauce
1 lb. Maniche Rigate dried pasta
32 Italian Style Meatballs
2 lbs. Ground Sirloin
Stroganoff Skillet Dinner mix
Soft Taco Dinner kit
1 can Refried Beans
6 1/3 lb. Black Angus Beef Patties
2 lbs. Breaded Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast Filets
1 lb. frozen Redskin potato wedges with olive oil, parmesan and roasted garlic
1 lb. frozen peas
48 oz. Vegetable oil
10 oz. bottle Steak Sauce
36 oz. ketchup

SNACK FOOD
12 Mozzarella/Cheddar string cheese
6 “Fit & Active” Ice Cream Sandwiches (just like “Skinny Cows”
12 No Sugar Added Fudge Bars
1 bag “F&A” Cheddar Cheese Rice Cakes
1 large box Animal Crackers
Reduced Fat Pringles
1 qt. bottle Strawberry Kiwi “beverage”-like Crystal Light

OTHER
36 Tall Kitchen trash bags
200 bendy straws
1 squeaky bone-shaped chew toy for dog
16-color watercolor paint set
2 foam kids’ placemats-1 “Incredibles” and 1 “Finding Nemo”
3 large Aldi heavy plastic shopping bags
(Aldi encourages shoppers to unpack the food cartons and use them to take their food home)

GRAND TOTAL FOR EVERYTHING
$95.54

That’s the most I’ve ever spent there, we were out of most everything because I bought less than usual last week so there would be room in the fridge for the Easter dinner stuff. And with tonight’s dinner being leftover Easter ham and fixings, this should last me at least until the weekend. So there you go. Check out Aldi, save some money.

P.S. I hope everybody had a good Easter! I had a moment of panic when I thought I’d lost my camera (it was under a pile of crap of course), and Nathan broke a Peter Rabbit snowglobe that was my Mom’s, but dinner was delicious and my Dad and Grandma seemed to enjoy themselves. Plus my Dad brought a WHOLE CHEESECAKE, of which we ate 4 thin slices, and the rest is in my freezer. Hey, at least frozen cheesecake takes longer to eat while watching TV, right?

Comments»

1. gingajoy - April 17, 2006

ok, you just sold me. i was always a little afraid of the Aldi, but you have won me over:)

maybe i’ll see u there;)

2. Trisha - April 17, 2006

I tried to get my sister in CA hooked up with Aldi, but they don’t have it out there. It’s primarily in the midwest and east I believe. I love it since it’s so dirt cheap, but it can be alittle scary. Choose carefully.

3. MrsFortune - April 17, 2006

Holy shit! That is so cheap! I always thought this place was a home depot type store! I never knew … we shop at the Navy commissary and I thought that was cheap but man! What good deals.

4. Catherine - April 17, 2006

Why have I never heard of this place?! Not just Aldi’s, but your very informative blog. I just read your six weird things, and had to laugh because I just mentioned Stephen King’s IT in my latest post. Bizarro. Also, I feel the very same way about warmth. There’s NEVER enough.

5. Cityslicker Mom - April 18, 2006

I’ve heard alot about that place. We don’t have one over here in Oregon but my sis lives back east and talks about it all the time!

6. Culinarily Obsessed - April 18, 2006

I have to admit, I LOVE Aldi too! I go there every few weeks & stock up on my baking ingredients like sugar, flour, cream cheese, chocolate chips. I actually prefer their brand of chocolate chips to Toll House, Ghirarrdeli and some of those other BIG brands.

7. Anonymous - April 28, 2006

I’m a total Aldi convert. I keep trying to get my parents to try it out, but they haven’t.

I think they are afraid of the Aldi brands, because lets face it – sometimes generics /aren’t/ as good as the real thing, but almost all of the Aldi brand stuff has been first rate. (Almost – their Oatmeal Creme Pies are horrid compared to Little Debbie).

Plus we’ve found some random stuff that is really excellent – there were these frozen pizzas by “Pella”, Buffalo Mozzerall Cheese – they were AWESOME. Now, of course, they’re gone and I can’t find them anywhere – but finding stuff like that is part of the Aldi experience.

So anyone afraid of going – don’t be. Sure, you bring your own bags, and bag your stuff at the little table (not the register) so it’s a little weird at first – get over it, and take 40% off of your grocery bill.


Leave a Reply

