jump to navigation

Pimp That Product 2-Electric Boogaloo April 10, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

After my review of the Swiffer CarpetFlick, I was asked to review another new product, Reynolds Fun Shapes Baking Cups. It’s baking, it’s fun shapes, what’s not to like?


They’re very simple-aluminum foil tins in three shapes:heart, star, and egg. The packages give suggestions for things to make with them, like individual brownies or Jell-O. There are even more recipes on the website.

I wanted something easy to make and I wanted to see if baked goods would really take the shape of the tins. The website had “directions” for making cookies using Break N Bake cookie dough. Perfect.
The directions were simple. Place one square of cookie dough in each ungreased cup, put the cups on a rimmed cookie sheet and bake. The suggested baking time was 14-16 minutes, but I started with 12 because my oven runs hot.
12 minutes was not enough.

I like my cookies crunchy (so they withstand being dunked in milk), so I gave them another five minutes.

I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but the dough did not completely spread out to fill the corners of each cup. So they weren’t perfect star shapes, but pretty close. And they popped out of the tins easily.

I suspect that a softer cookie dough would probably spread out better, or brownie mix which I’ll try next. Pretty much anything you want to make into individual servings would be good in these cups. I’ve thought of a few non-food uses that aren’t on the website:

1. Place a tealight or small votive candle in each and surround with colored sand. You could also use them to catch drips from bigger candles. I don’t know if they would withstand melted wax but if they did, you could use them to make shaped flat candles.

2. They would be great for organizing art project, crafting or scrapbooking supplies. If you do beading, each cup could hold a different color of beads. You could give them to kids to rest their paintbrushes in while painting, or use them to keep fingerpaints separate.

3. I think you could turn them over and have kids paint the flat side, then punch a hole in the top for a string and make Christmas ornaments. Or instead of paint, have kids glue pieces of colored paper or pictures cut out of magazines on to them. When my kids were in preschool they loved sticking paper scraps onto disposable pie plates; this would be the same thing only smaller.

We’ll need to eat up the cookies before I make the brownies, so that should be the day after tomorrow. I’ll let you know how they turn out. Also, you can go to Tammie’s site to see the cakes she made. I give these a thumbs up and hope Reynolds keeps making them.

P.S. My husband asked me if I wanted people to think I was a “Product Whore”. Actually, I don’t mind that at all (well, not the “Whore” part). I don’t see anything wrong with getting free products in exchange for writing a review. No one tells me or even suggests to me what I should say. I’m under no obligation. That being said, if you have a product that you want an honest opinion of, the opinion of a regular person, let me know. I don’t make any money off this site so I might as well get some free stuff because of it!

Comments»

1. Nixie Knox - April 10, 2006

TB at Soul Gardening did some baking with those cups too! They look cool-I want to try them out!

2. Dawn - April 10, 2006

I think it is a perfectly reasonable use of your time. I mean, I would rather a real person used something and talked about it.

And tell Chris that all this whore talk is making you crave the tube steak boogie.

3. Beth - April 10, 2006

whore it up, baby!!

i didn’t even know about these fun shape baking tins — and because of your review, I am going to look for them and try them out.

keep it up!!

4. sweatpantsmom - April 10, 2006

Thanks for the tip!

And if anyone calls you ‘Product Whore’ hit em with the blunt end of a NEW Swiffer Duster! Stop Cleaning. Get Swiffer! From Procter and Gamble

5. Elizabeth - April 10, 2006

Nixie-That’s the idea, the company hopes I get people to think that!

Dawn-Please tell me you read my comment over at Bombadee’s Garden about how I was cooking cube steak for dinner. And tell me that is what led you to “tube steak boogie”. Because, HA!

Beth-Hey there, nice to see you in my comments! And again, that’s what Reynolds is hoping for. If this keeps up, I might get a lifetime supply of tinfoil!

6. TB - April 10, 2006

Those break and bake cookies make me feel like a superstar. I don’t know why I didn’t try them sooner!

I really liked the baking cups too. Nowadays, even a baking moron like me can make a decent dessert what with all the mixes and shapes and stuff.

And I really like your PS. I feel the same way, except I don’t mind the whore part either ;o)

7. Mrs. Harridan - April 11, 2006

Dude, I want to be a product whore, too!

I have a coupon for those shaped cups, and I think Reynolds has cake pans that are shaped as well. I’ll have to pick some up the next time I go shopping. Unless, of course, someone decides to send me some so I can use ‘n’ review on my blog. Ahem!

I must confess that their tinfoil is the only stuff I’ll use – the other stuff is too flimsy.

8. Arabella - April 11, 2006

I think star brownies would be fun. I bet it would be fun to bite off the chewy end points.

And I don’t think you’re a product whore. Free stuff is fun.

9. Arabella - April 11, 2006

Did you notice that I said “fun” three times in that comment? I need some tea.

And a star-shaped brownie.

10. K. - April 11, 2006

I would do it too!

However, I personally would have hoped for better results with the break-n-bake dough.

11. Elizabeth - April 11, 2006

SP Mom-HA!

Tammie-Did you see on the website you can melt Jolly Ranchers into the egg shape cups to make Easter candy? Genius!

Mrs. H-I’ll pass your name on to my pimp-er, P.R. guy if you want!

Arabella-Your comment was FUN to read! Maybe more tea’s not such a great idea 🙂

12. Mocha - April 11, 2006

Hey, I’m doing it! I’m a proud member of the “Product Whore” club and I like it. You’re right, there is no obligation. Your cookies are so cute and you are SUCH a good mom – oy. I best get to baking something on my time off before school starts again!

Question: what’s “Cute Overload?” Never heard of it. It’s an adorable way to describe my dog’s face, though, huh? 😉

13. Nancy - April 11, 2006

Dawn’s comments always crack me up — tube steak boogie!

I like that you review the products. You clearly state that you received it for free, and give an honest opinion — nothing wrong with that. I think it’s clever of the marketers to tap into the untamed blog world. 😉

p.s. — J was inexplicably embarrassed about the Dream Cream comment, so I may not answer over there. Let’s just say, it provides the basis for a special kind of massage, if you know what I’m saying. But it’s not edible.

14. Elizabeth - April 12, 2006

Nancy-Poor J! Thanks to the Blogernet there are infinite numbers of people who could read your posts and therefore cause him further embarassment. Tell him we aren’t thinking about how that Cream could be used, nope, not thinking about it AT ALL.

15. Mary Tsao - April 13, 2006

Whore away!

And pass me a cookie.


Leave a Reply

