jump to navigation

There’s a First Time for Everything April 8, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was tagged by Cheryl to do the Firsts meme. I know that some of my answers might shock my family and some of my friends, but I decided that I am too old and life is too short to try to hide from my past. Some of my answers are going to be things that even my current Best Friend doesn’t know about me, but I guess she’ll find out. Here I go:

1.Who was your first prom date? I almost didn’t have one. And then Chris, who was dating someone else at the time, suggested I go with his best friend who is also named Chris. We had a good time and it was nice that there was no pressure. He is still one of our best friends.
2.Who were your first roommates? After I picked my college, my Mom found out that the daughter of a friend of hers was going to the same college. So they set us up to be roommates. It didn’t work out, because I was dating Chris and never there on the weekends.
3.What alcoholic beverage did you drink the first time you got drunk? Freshman year of high school, after a football game, when the drinking age was still 18 and Seniors never got carded. It was some kind of beer.
4.What was your first job? After babysitting, I was a Salad Bar Attendant and Busser at Bonanza, which was a steak-and-buffet place like Ponderosa or Sizzler. I had to wear a heavy polyester brown and orange uniform that always smelled like steak grease no matter how many times I washed it.
5.What was your first car? A 1982 Chevy Chevette, light blue. I loved it SO much.
6. When did you go to your first funeral? The first funeral I really remember was for my Uncle Fred who did of Leukemia in his early forties. He was Catholic so there was a Mass, and at the end I started crying, which shocked my Mother who was mortified by public displays of emotion. I remember clear as a bell her asking me what was wrong and me saying “it’s just so sad”. And she nodded and walked away. I would have been around 10 or 11.
7. How old were you when you first moved away from your hometown? Besides when I went to college? When I was 20. I took a year off between Sophomore and Junior years and moved back in with my parents while I worked full-time. My Mom and I got in a huge fight one day and I packed a bag and moved in with Chris.
8. Who was your first grade teacher? Miss Dawkins. She was tall, and very thin, and a lot older. I remember my Mom referring to her as a “spinster”. When she found out I was reading at a fourth grade level she arranged for me to walk by myself to the school library to check out Little House On The Prairie books.
9. Where did you go on your first ride on an airplane? To Venezuela, my Senior year of High School. Our school orchestra got invited to go as goodwill ambassadors, it’s an interesting story which I’ll post some time. I was terrified to get on that plane. And we could smoke.
10. When did you sneak out of your house for the first time and who was it with? I only snuck out once, when I was 16, to meet my boyfriend Bill and lose my virginity.
11.Who was your first Best Friend and are you still friends? The first person I considered my Best Friend was JoLynne White. We were inseparable from seventh grade until our Sophomore year. We even went on each other’s family vacations. Then she fell in love, and at the same time I went a little crazy, and she dropped me like a hot potato.
12. Where did you live the first time you moved out of your parents’ house? With Chris, in his biological father’s house. Our room was a space in the attic, about the size of a regular bedroom.
13. Who is the first person you call when you have a bad day? Chris and I keep MSN Messenger open during the day so we can IM each other any time. I’ll usually send him a message first, then call my sister-in-law or my friend Trisha.
14. Who’s wedding were you in the first time you were a bridesmaid? I’ve never been a bridesmaid.
15. What is the first thing you do in the morning? Pee, then change Kaitlyn’s diaper and give her a bottle. Once Chris and the boys have left, I make myself a big cup of coffee.
16. What was the first concert you ever went to? Chris and I saw UB40 at the MSU Auditorium in 1985.
17. First tattoo or piercing? Pierced ears when I turned 13. No tattoos. Because hello, needles? No.
18. First Celebrity Crush? Shaun Cassidy. Fourth grade, he was on TV as one of the Hardy Boys, and he had the super-neat album “Born Late”. He was far out.
19. Age of first kiss? Remember when I mentioned Chuck Johnson a couple of posts ago? Seventh grade, we were 13, and we met in an empty hallway during lunch period. He gave me a looong French Kiss that made my legs shake. It was quite shocking because Chuck was black and I’m not, and there were no interracial couples in my class. We went together for about four months, and then he moved. If I could meet him again, I would thank him for teaching me how to kiss.
20. First crush? Second grade, Phillip Mason. I tried to sit by him at assemblies.
21. First time you did drugs? Freshman year of High School. I had a friend who had a friend who always had dime bags available. I’ve liked smoking pot ever since. There, I said it.

Most of these questions could be their own blog post material. They bring up more questions, more memories. Some good, some bad. How deep into one’s past should you go? Do you use your blog as a diary and place to lay bare your innermost secrets, or do you consider it a public document that should only contain items of general interest?

There’s a long story behind my first two years of college that I sometimes feel I need to write down just so I can examine it, think about it, and then put it behind me. I hate that things that happened to me TWENTY YEARS AGO still bother me, still tug at my memory and live inside me like a cancer. But then, there’s a few things that happened that I’ve never told anyone, I can’t even remember if I told Chris or not. Are some things better left in the past?

Let me ask this-have you told your husband or significant other everything? I don’t necessarily mean things that happened before you met, but has anything happened since you met that he/she might not know about? Do you feel the need to tell? Would you write a blog post about it?

As for the meme, I’d like to hear everybody’s answers to these questions, so I won’t specifically tag anyone, but if you want to do any or all of these questions, please link back to here and let me know you did it. Thanks.

Comments»

1. Mary Tsao - April 9, 2006

I really love your honesty and your answers! I want to do this, but I used to like dime bags a little too much and I honestly can’t remember the answers to half these questions. Ha ha. I wrote that to be funny but it’s actually a little sad!

I’ll try and let you know if I succeed.

2. Lanna - April 9, 2006

I totally remember Bonanza. We had one near us that we always used to eat at. I think I got the kid’s meal up until I was 12 or something (wasn’t the cut-off 9 or 10?). I always got the shrimp and baked potato, and then practiced my soft-serve cone abilites at least once or twice a visit. 🙂

3. Elizabeth - April 9, 2006

Mary-Actually, that is pretty funny! C’mon, give it a try.

Lanna-Yep, the fried shrimp was pretty good, but the smell of the grease permeated my nose until the baked potatoes tasted like steak, the ice cream tasted like steak, etc.

4. Dawn - April 9, 2006

It is so funny that you write this Elizabeth, as I did something last week that was really counterintuitive to my personality and involved someone from my past….

I’ve been thinkning about people from my past – not dwelling, but golly, they keep popping up at the oddest times in my brain. I feel like things are unsettled – cosmically.

Terrance knows just about everything there is to know, that is – if it is his business to know about it. There are some parts that aren’t his business.

Gerenally, I am very honest on my blog – and I am the same in real life. I don’t keep too much back, much to Terrances horror!

And I smoked…alot…, and sometimes had opium in the pot…and acid…, and shrooms….And drank…

Come on. I went to the University of Vermont!! We used to call it “Checking the weather”, as in “Does anyone need to check the weather?”

And I have never been a bridesmaid either. You are the ONLY other person I have ever known who can say that!

5. Elizabeth - April 9, 2006

Dawn-And look at us now, a couple of married Moms. Who would’ve thunk it?

6. Cheryl - April 9, 2006

Very cool, Elizabeth! Who would have known you were such a little rebel? I’m so glad everything worked out so wonderfully for you, despite your former wild ways! ; )

7. MrsFortune - April 9, 2006

Ponderosa! Man, I loved their sundae bar …. mmmm …

Very enlightening post. Never woulda thunk it about you, Elizabeth!

8. Elizabeth - April 9, 2006

Cheryl and Mrs. F-I don’t mean to come across as some kind of priss. I just had it ingrained into me by my extremely repressed mother that it’s not appropriate to be outwardly demonstrative. I guess that carried over into my blog. In a way I’m glad I got tagged for this meme so I can open up a little.

9. Chelle - April 9, 2006

Elizabeth — I, too, have never been a bridesmaid and also worked at Bonanza! I started as a Cashier but they eventually worked me around on every shift to just about every position: salad bar, busser, order taker, coffe/tea, etc. By that time the uniform I had was a wrap-around burgundy polyester skirt and a grey polo shirt. Ugh. It still makes me shudder to think about wearing that crap!

I loved your honest answers. I’ll also try this meme and see how it goes…

10. Elizabeth - April 10, 2006

Chelle-Maybe that’s why we get along so well, it’s our Bonanza connection! Heehee

11. K. - April 10, 2006

LOL, feels good to just tell all sometimes doesn’t it?

12. Mightymouse Mommy - April 10, 2006

I love you sissy – I’m still waiting for the shocking part 😉

and reading your answers makes me think “Geeze woman (myself) you should go to confessional or something, even though you’re not catholic.”

I’d do the meme but my in-laws read my blog. I still remember when Chris told his mom that I use to be a dancer she automatically thought he meant a stripper rather than I took dance lessons for 10 years. I was mortified. rofl.

13. Mightymouse Mommy - April 10, 2006

hahaha! I just read my comment and a thought occurred to me… People that read our blogs might think we’re calling each other ninnies rather than sisters hehe

thought I’d share the giggle

14. Elizabeth - April 10, 2006

Sissy-I just sent my Dad a link to my Flickr page and I’m really hoping he doesn’t start poking around, find the Profile, find the Web page link, and come here. I just don’t think his heart could take it!

15. Mightymouse Mommy - April 10, 2006

lol your dad doesn’t have your blog url? Why didn’t *I* think of that?? rofl

16. Elizabeth - April 10, 2006

oooh, you’d better not!

17. Mightymouse Mommy - April 10, 2006

lol no no I didn’t mean I would tell your dad, I meant why didn’t *I* think of not telling MY parents about my blog or give them the url lol.

18. BioDad - April 10, 2006

I Am Sooooo Shocked

19. Elizabeth - April 10, 2006

“biodad”-Oh PLEASE! Give me a BREAK! And thanks again for letting us live in your attic:)

20. Nancy - April 10, 2006

This was really interesting to read — I love hearing about my blog friends’ pasts. I always knew you were cool.

I am dying to hear the orchestra story especially, since I was in orchestra in high school too and we traveled to Orlando (not as exciting as Venezuela.)

J knows pretty much everything about my past, I would say — at least in a general sense. Some of the details remain personal, of course (there’s some things he doesn’t need to know and wouldn’t want to hear anyway.)

I struggle sometimes with how much to put out there on the blog. I don’t know if there’s a correct answer. I’m not really afraid of the reactions of people who read my site — if they don’t like it, they can always go elsewhere. My family (outside of J) does not know about my blog, but I try to be careful about what I choose to reveal. It’s a tough call sometimes.

p.s. — I haven’t had time to e-mail you yet but I love the mix (it came Saturday!) Thank you so much!

21. Trisha - April 10, 2006

Wow Elizabeth!

You have definitely hit a new level of bravery!
I’ll call ya!

22. Beth - April 10, 2006

i’m tagging myself with this one… and I hope to be as honest and brave!

23. Elizabeth - April 11, 2006

Looking forward to your answers Beth!

24. roo - April 11, 2006

Elizabeth, I really liked this post– the sense of sharing and honesty, the chance to get to know you better.

I use my blog to see my life more clearly. In the process, I’m also trying to learn to own my voice, my stories– which sometimes means I write more intimate things than I might normally share with people I don’t know. But at the moment, I need my little veil of anonymity to feel safe enough to do that. Still, I try to be aware of the fact that I could be outed someday– in that sense, my blog is like some extended dare I’ve set myself– maybe by then I will have learned not to be afraid of being my true self, no matter who’s watching.

As for Jeff and me, well, he knows all my big secrets– having that kind of openness between us is part of my definition of what marriage should be. Still, there are things I tend to keep to myself unless pressed– just because I can tell him everything doesn’t mean I have to…

I liked finding out about more common ground between us. I may not have been a band geek in high school, but I did tour Europe one summer with the Sound of American Honor Band and Chorus (I guess I’m a choir geek.)

And I’m also partial to the herb. But you may have guessed that one already.

25. Izzy - April 13, 2006

Oh wow! This is a fun one. I totally want to do it but I am waaay behind on reading blogs. I’d like to come back to it. Better late than never, right?


Leave a Reply

