jump to navigation

It’s English Muffin Pizza Time! April 5, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Do the English Muffin Pizza
English Muffin Pizza
English Muffin Pizza with a baseball bat
Now break it down and freeze

Well, if you didn’t feel sorry for my poor, sleep-deprived self already, you should now. Do you see what passes for funny in my brain?

The boys are home on Spring Break. I thought it would be fun to make English Muffin Pizzas, only I hadn’t made them since I was a Girl Scout in the 4th Grade earning my Cooking Badge.

I actually had to Google a recipe because I didn’t know the correct oven temperature. That’s just sad.

They actually tasted pretty good. But then I have the palate of a 10 year old.

In other news, Kaitlyn has morphed from a sweet-natured excellent sleeper to a fussy so-so sleeper. It is starting to cause Chris and I some stress. When she fusses, and nothing either of us do is comforting her, we start to get more and more tense until we start snapping at each other for no reason. And once we get on that merry-go-round, it’s hard for us to get off.

Kaitlyn went to sleep at 8:00 last night, and slept until 11:00. A full diaper woke her up, and then she looked at me and remembered that HEY! That lady makes me warm bottles! I think I’ll start squirming and fussing and stuffing my blanket in my mouth until she feeds me!

That lasted until 11:30, Kaitlyn’s fussing completely drowned out The Daily Show. Sigh, no moment of Zen for me. Wait, that’s not true, I heard him totally blast that Cynthia McKinney, the Congresswoman who claims a security guard discriminated against her for being both black and a woman. He put his hand on her arm when she wouldn’t stop at a security checkpoint, and she stabbed him in the arm with her cellphone.

I got her back to sleep and watched, what? Probably a Law & Order rerun. Ooh, who watched SVU last night? Best hour of TV I’ve seen in a long time.

At 5:15 I was roused from sleep (remind me to tell you my dream) by the sounds of fussing coming from the monitor. Which, by the way, is on my side of the bed, because my husband could sleep through a Drum & Bugle Corps marching through our living room. Well, not really, but he’s a pretty sound sleeper. Anyway, the deal has always been that if he goes to bed before me, I just have to wake him up and ask him to take care of the baby. Pretty sweet, huh?

Whatever he did must have worked, because I woke up at the unheard of hour of 8:15am. He must have fed and changed her and put her back in her crib before leaving for work at 7:00. Despite my sleeping in, I still feel tired. But, who doesn’t?

Did anybody else get reminded by the 11:00 news that at 3 seconds past 1:02 am, the time and date would be 01:02:03 04/05/06 ? How cool is that? I’m such a geek about stuff like that. But alas, I did not stay up to witness it personally. I would have listened real hard at 3 seconds past 1:02 for some kind of universal *CLICK* or something.

I have pictures of the baby, which I will post on Flickr when I can. I’m using our ANCIENT Desktop computer that we keep in the boys’ playroom. They use it to surf Lego.com and StarWars.com. I miss my laptop, Chris is working on getting us a recycled hard drive from work.

Miss FussyPants is insisting on another bottle. Geez kid, the one you had 90 minutes ago wasn’t enough? Sheesh!

Comments»

1. sweatpantsmom - April 5, 2006

My girls love da English Muffin Pizzas. Although a couple of weekends ago we went to a friends house where they made pizzas from fresh dough, so now the little gourmets are a little jaded. Won’t be long before they refuse to eat my ‘homemade’ Pillsbury Cinnamon rolls…

2. Mary Tsao - April 5, 2006

My family is lucky if they get Boboli pizza. In fact, they’ve never gotten it, but I figure one day I’ll have more time and I’ll make it. And that’ll be the day

3. TANYETTA - April 6, 2006

Hello from California. I’m an Aquarius too! Sorry, I cannot remember how I found your blog.

Does mommy brain really exist? If so, then I’ll blame it on mommy brain. LOL

4. MrsFortune - April 6, 2006

Yes on the 1:02:03 04/05/06 thing! Someone at work reminded us all. I forgot to observe. Anwyay, I hope she goes back to her regular old sleeping habits real soon!

Bye bye mandisa? Nooooo ….

5. Mightymouse Mommy - April 6, 2006

Yeah I was pretty bummed Mandisa was voted off too. IMO she’s the best female vocalist this season.

Sissy, sounds to me like she might be going through a growth spurt. Parker always had a tougher time sleeping when he was. It might be time to get the ok from the doctor to start putting rice cereal in her bottle, that helped Parker.

The other thing we did when this happened is *WE* woke *HIM* up to feed him right before we went to bed for the night, it always seemed to help him sleep a little later in the morning.

The only other thing I can think of is that she might be a bit fussy from spring allergies.

6. Elizabeth - April 6, 2006

SP Mom-I don’t understand this phrase “fresh dough”! Although I’ve heard some pizza places will sell you balls of dough to use at home. And can we talk about Pillsbury Grands Cinnamon Rolls? Best.Breakfast.Food.EVER!

Mary-I can get a large Pepperoni from our favorite place for five bucks during the week. Costs more than that to make it homemade, so why go to all that trouble? Hee!

Tanyetta-Hi! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. And oh yes, “mommy brain” is very real. I mean, just…wait, what? LOL

Mrs. F-I just don’t have the words. If the people who vote for AI don’t understand just how good of a singer Mandisa is, then I fear for where this competition might end up. If Kellie Pickler wins? I’m never watching again.

Sissy Mommy-Chris thinks she’s in the beginning stages of teething. Last night was BAD BAD BAD. And she always eats at 7:00 pm, but now she wakes up at 11:00 to eat again. And at 5:00 am too. Hold me.

7. K. - April 6, 2006

Ahhh… sweet bliss when daddy settles the baby and allows mommy to sleep in! 🙂

8. Stacy - April 6, 2006

You can always leave Miss FussyPants with us for a night 🙂 We would be happy for the practice.

9. Nancy - April 6, 2006

Hey, Kaitlyn’s a growing girl. She’s hungry! Hungry!

That was nice of Chris to let you sleep late by taking care of the baby before he went to work.

Don’t forget to tell us about your dream. After a nice nap with your hungry sweetie, of course. 😉

10. Elizabeth - April 6, 2006

k.-Yes, although I feel guilty sometimes because he is not a morning person, yet he just started a new job that requires him to get up at 6:30 am. I definitely owe him some baby-free mornings!

Stacy-Ha, hahahaha! Honey, you have NO IDEA what you would be in for. But you’re sweet and I luv ya for offering!

Nancy-That’s funny that you were the one who reminded me, because the dream was about YOU! OOOOooooh!

11. Fraulein N - April 7, 2006

Why is that English Muffin Pizza song CRACKING ME UP? It’s just that kind of morning.

12. Arabella - April 7, 2006

Did you make happy faces on the English muffin pizzas? That was always my favorite part.

13. Elizabeth - April 7, 2006

Fraulein-I probably should have linked to the Peanut Butter Jelly Time song in case people didn’t know what the heck I was referring to.

Arabella-No,I let the kids make their own and they just piled on the cheese and pepperoni!


Leave a Reply

