jump to navigation

A Cold Tuesday Morning March 28, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

This morning I Googled myself

Thanks to everybody who left a comment about changing my URL in their blogroll. You may also be getting an email from me which you can obviously disregard. I’m much happier with my new address now that it has the name of the blog in it. I googled my blog name, have you done that? I used to be the very first listing for the words “table for five” but I’ve been bumped down to fifth place after a bunch of listings for a movie called Table For Five from 1983 starring Jon Voight. Google’s ranking is based on the number of times a phrase is searched for, right? So all I have to do is Google it over and over and I should move right back up. I mean come on, if you had told me a year ago that something I created would be anywhere on a Google search I wouldn’t have believed it.

I made a Mix CD

A while back I wrote a post about how out-of-touch I felt regarding new music. I felt I was stuck in a rut of old familiar songs and wasn’t learning what else was out there. Jess hooked me up with her latest mix cd, and I was happy to learn that there was music being made in this decade that I actually enjoyed. In fact, “Your Cover’s Blown” by Belle & Sebastian is my new favorite song to play while I drive around doing errands.

The best part is that I re-invited music back into my life. I had fallen into the habit of listening to talk radio in the car. I tuned into “This American Life” and “Living on Earth”, “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me” and “What Do You Know?”, “Car Talk” and “The Splendid Table”. These are all outstanding programs to listen to, but there’s something about hearing a good song on the radio that is really uplifting. So I dug out a stack of old CDs and reacquainted myself with the bands and solo artists I’ve been listening to for years. And I realized that there’s nothing wrong with enjoying old music. These songs and artists have been around for twenty or even thirty years for a reason. With that in mind, I put together a group of songs that represent the best of what Chris and I have been listening to for most of our adult lives. The albums these songs are on are what we take in the car for road trips, what we wash dishes to, what Chris listens to while building furniture. Here’s the playlist:

And She Was……………….Talking Heads
Ruby Baby…………………..Donald Fagen
True Fine Love……………Steve Miller Band
Money Can’t Buy It……. Annie Lennox
Helplessly Hoping………. Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young
FM (No Static At All)….. Steely Dan
Water of Love………………Dire Straits
Kiss of Life……………………Sade
Seven Bridges Road…… .Eagles
Right By Your Side………Eurythmics
Diamonds on the
Soles of her Shoes………. Paul Simon
Free Fallin’ ………………….Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
I’d be happy to make a copy for anyone who’s interested. Email me your home or office address and I’ll get them out by the end of the week. Oh, and the title of the CD? Not sure. Maybe I should call it my “Road trippin’ Dish washin’ Furniture Buildin’ Mix”.
Comments»

1. mama_tulip - March 28, 2006

Good mix!

I’ll definitely change your URL on my blogroll…I have a bunch I want to add, I just need to find the time to sit down and do it. 😉

2. Mary Tsao - March 28, 2006

Hi, Elizabeth!
Thanks for emailing me your new URL. I haven’t been keeping up with reading my favorites. Too much writing…

Your new template design looks great! I really like it.

Okay — off to change your URL and catch up on what’s going on.

3. MrsFortune - March 28, 2006

Really nice mix! I love Paul Simon, especially the Graceland album.

Hey, I got one more night of not being able to watch Idol and then after that, we can compare recaps! yay.

4. Chelle - March 28, 2006

I love Diamond on the soles of her shoes! It is a song that just “speaks” to my soul. I wish he’d done more stuff with that “world music” sound. Anyhooo… Good Day!

5. Elizabeth - March 28, 2006

Seriously, it costs like a dollar to send a CD through MediaMail, so email me if you want one. I’ll feel so sad if no one wants one. Love me, love me CD (or at least like us a little!)

6. Elizabeth - March 28, 2006

Or “my” CD. Or not, whatever.

7. Mocha - March 28, 2006

Yippee! I came in just in time to see your new design (I’ve been poking around a bit prior to commenting) and I adore it! Darnit if you didn’t come up with a wonderful blogroll title: People I’d like to have coffee with.

*Sigh

Considering my nickname and your coolness factor and your great taste in music, I’m gonna aim for that list now. Have I seen you over at Belinda’s, too? Or is it from BlogHer? I’m going to go search for you as well. I’ll leave the Google alone. 😉

Nice to meet you!

8. Fraulein N - March 28, 2006

I would definitely love a copy of that mix, if you don’t mind. I actually know some of those songs, and usually when people list their favorite songs I feel all mystified and uncool. I’ll email you my address.

9. Becki - March 28, 2006

OMG!! This very morning I was driving back from Libby’s preschool and musing about what songs I will put on a mix CD as soon as I get my new computer and DSL hooked up–and Seven Bridges Road was at the top of the list. Is it illegal to play that song on the radio? I haven’t heard it in forever.

And we are SO roadtripping. SOON. Bring the CD.

10. sweatpantsmom - March 28, 2006

Thanks for the email!

And not sure if I’ve already told you, but great new design.

11. Elizabeth - March 28, 2006

Thanks everybody! Glad you found me and are coming back anyway 😉

12. Nixie Knox - March 28, 2006

Love the new site – isn’t blogger awesome? I have googled my alter ego, Nixie Knox, and there is some other trollop out there using that pseudonym. I hope that she doesn’t say anything awful and then my friends will think it is me.

13. Cheryl - March 28, 2006

Wow! Great mix! I’m impressed a ‘young’un’ like you would know such classics as Steely Dan, Donald Fagen and Steve Miller. Is that Paul Simon’s Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes I hear in the background? Yep, mighty impressive! So glad I saw your comment at Mocha Momma’s Cafe.

14. Elizabeth - March 29, 2006

Look you guys! Cheryl called me a “young’un”! That just makes my whole day right there.

15. Snide - March 29, 2006

Best watch your offer of sending CD copies to people… RIAA might think you’re trying to steal money from them or something.

16. Elizabeth - March 29, 2006

“Snide”-believe me, I have agonized over the ethics of music sharing. These are all songs from our personal collection, not downloaded. But I still can’t decide if it’s wrong that someone gets these songs for free from me instead of paying the 99 cents each it costs to buy them from iTunes. If you buy “Seven Bridges Road” for 99 cents, does Don Henley get a penny? Am I taking money out of his pocket? I don’t know. I just don’t know.
P.S. Want a CD?

17. Nancy - March 30, 2006

Hey Elizabeth, I’ve been meaning to tell you this anyway but haven’t had a chance — now I can let you AND Snide know.

iTunes actually enforces, to some extent, your ability to make multiple copies of CDs that you burn using their software. You can burn up to 5 without any problem, and then after the 5th you’ll get a reminder that the songs are copyrighted. So obviously there’s some fair use allowed in there.

I still think making a mix is different, because it’s like your own personal collection of songs. If you’ve already paid for the album, or for individual songs, putting them on a mix for personal use should be fine — unless the RIAA or anyone else comes up with a better option for making your own mixes.

Hope you’re getting a mix out to me (please) — yours is on the way!


Leave a Reply

