jump to navigation

Blog News and a Request For Info March 21, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am starting a new blog with Blogger, because I don’t want my old URL anymore. It has our family’s last name in it, and since I use our real first names here, I just think it would be better to have a little bit of privacy.

Here’s my question: Blogger Help says all I have to do is change the URL field and republish the blog and everything will transfer. But I am obviously a little scared that the old blog will disappear and the new blog will be blank. I know Blogger says an address is never deleted, but what about my comments, archives, etc.? Anyone else ever done this?

I’ll be leaving a message on the old blog that says “I’ve moved, my new address is…” When that happens, I’d really REALLY appreciate it if everybody who has me in their blogroll would please change the URL to the new one. I’ll have to re-register with Technorati, and BlogMad, and TTLB, etc. etc.

Last, when you do see that message and go to the new blog, you are going to see one hell of a kick-ass redesign, pardon my French. Shell, formerly Tigerlily, is completely redesigning everything from the background color to the header to the tag line. You won’t believe your eyes!

Comments»

1. jennster - March 21, 2006

ooooooooh- a redesign is always so awesome! can’t wait to see it!

2. TB - March 21, 2006

Very exciting. I don’t know anything about Blogger, but I’m with you. I’d be a little scared too unless someone who has already done it can assure you that you won’t lose anything.

Looking forward to the fancy new site!

3. Fraulein N - March 21, 2006

Can’t wait to see the new design. Keep us posted.

4. mama_tulip - March 21, 2006

Can’t wait to see your new digs!!

5. Dawn - March 21, 2006

Geez woman, you’re going all fancy on us!

6. Beth - March 21, 2006

ooh! can’t wait – sure it will be awesome!

7. Shell - March 21, 2006

Shell here…man, you guys are starting to freak me out a bit. I hope the design Elizabeth and I have concocted doesn’t let y’all down! :o) Soon my sweeties, soon…

8. Nancy - March 22, 2006

Yay for new designs! Can’t wait to see it.

There’s a way to export your old blog so that you’d have all your posts, etc. in case there’s a failure. But I imagine if you’re transferring within Blogger everything will be pretty easy. I haven’t tried it though — sorry I can’t help more.


Leave a Reply

