jump to navigation

This Just In March 20, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Jennifer Granholm will sign a bill requiring abortion providers to give pregnant women the option to see ultrasound images of their fetuses, a spokeswoman says.

I’ve started two separate posts on this and deleted both of them. The gist of both entries went something like this: I am Pro-Choice, I’ve never had an abortion, but I imagine it’s hard enough to drive to Planned Parenthood itself without being asked if you want to see your fetus on an ultrasound. I’m sure there were all kinds of reasons why the bill passed, but I still don’t like it.

That’s all I’m going to say about that. Here’s the complete link to the news story:http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060320/ap_on_re_us/abortion_ultrasound

Comments»

1. Shell - March 20, 2006

That’s horrible!

2. Nancy - March 20, 2006

Ugh. Oh, ugh.

3. sweatpantsmom - March 20, 2006

Ditto on the above comments. What is going on with our government?

4. Purl_Princess - March 20, 2006

Holy crap – that’s awful…

5. roo - March 21, 2006

I read an article about this myself not too long ago. Considering the news from South Dakota, I’m starting to feel very frightened about the erosion of women’s rights.

6. Mightymouse Mommy - March 21, 2006

Elizabeth, your post says it all, really. Pro-life advocates seem to think women/girls make the decision to have an abortion easier than they choose which shampoo to drive. Thus is the way it has always been and the way it will always be. What scares me the most, terrifies me actually, is the involvement of our government on this and similar issues. Chris didn’t understand “what the big deal” was because the mother could say no. What he failed to grasp was that it’s one more step away from our freedom, our rights over our own reproductive systems and even our rights as women. It’s a slippery slope I tell you. If you hear of a protest for this in your area, please let me know so that I might be able to arrange to attend.

7. Elizabeth - March 21, 2006

Sissy-absolutely. I can just see us with Kaitlyn and Parker in strollers standing in front of the Capitol building. I’ll check the Lansing chapter of Planned Parenthood’s website.

8. Mrs. Harridan - March 21, 2006

I can’t imagine a woman who would agree to that, but I can easily imagine a confused GIRL not being able to say no, or being bullied into it by an intimidating doctor.

This probably won’t change any girl’s decision, it will just make it more horrible for her in the aftermath.

It galls me that a woman is signing the bill, too.

9. Mrs. Harridan - March 21, 2006

This post has been removed by the author.

10. Elizabeth - March 21, 2006

Mrs. H- my SIL(mightymouse mommmy) and I were just talking about that. We are both so disappointed in our Governor. We feel like she let down the Sisterhood, you know?

11. Beth - March 21, 2006

what is going on in the world today? how can we be going backwards at such a rapid rate of speed?! it’s almost overwhelming the amount of damage this administration has done.

12. Mightymouse Mommy - March 21, 2006

Beth what’s even scarier is that this administration still has the support of over a third of this country! It’s mind boggling and my brain just can’t grasp why the people in this country seem to be content supporting, blindly, a president who serves AGAINST their best interests and FOR his OWN (and his buddies.) I don’t understand it at all and quite frankly (potty mouth warning) it scares the shit out of me.

13. TB - March 21, 2006

This is par for the course and I expect we will see even more legislation like this in the next two years. Hopefully after the reign of terror is over it will not be too late to undo some of the damage to women’s rights that has been insidiously building over the last six years.

14. Dawn - March 21, 2006

Heres a side of extra guilt with your stress and pain.

15. BC - March 21, 2006

Dawn-that’s it exactly. Like Mrs. Harridan said, I don’t expect very many women will say yes, but it’s the fact that the subject has to be broached at all.

16. Elizabeth - March 21, 2006

Oops, I was signed in as my husband!


Leave a Reply

