jump to navigation

Pimp That Product #2 March 2, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Earlier this week I received a free product in the mail to try and review. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve ever won anything or got anything for free, so I was both appreciative and excited. Especially when I took a closer look at the product. I have one already; this is the redesigned version. It has a wider base, longer, thicker middle and a rounder handle that is more comfortable to hold. I’ve used it several times in several rooms of my house.

Can you guess what it is?

NO, it’s not that! Honestly.

All right, now that my inner Beavis and Butthead have calmed down, I’ll tell you. It’s the “new”, redesigned Swiffer Sweeper. After the post I wrote about how much I love the Swiffer CarpetFlick and all other Swiffer products, I got an email from a PR firm asking if I would review the new Sweeper. They have worked with other bloggers including Busy Mom, who confirmed that it was a legitimate company. I agreed to try the Sweeper and write a review.

I got out my old Sweeper for comparison. It’s a good thing I got a new one because the old one was looking pretty grubby. I like the new handle. The old Sweeper handle was narrower, and although it had little bumps on it which I guess made it easier to grip, the new one has a larger handle made of a softer plastic. And a loop for hanging it on a hook.

I used it as a dust mop in the baby’s room where it did an excellent job picking up dust bunnies and dog hairs. And then I apologized to the baby for not having swept her room since Nana left at the beginning of February. Good God. The dry cloths are also good for dusting the tops of doorframes and doors, and windowsills. The new pole is a few inches longer and bigger around (heh heh), so it’s even easier for 5 foot me to dust the tops of things.

I was not, however, pleased with the wet mop cloths. Although the cloth came out of the package dripping wet, it dried out before I could mop the whole room, which is a standard 9×10. The wet cloth also has a “scrubbing strip” on one side. You’re supposed to tilt the base up on its side and scrub back and forth, but I had to bend down and hold it steady with my hand. Which still didn’t remove a spot of sticky mud.

I also used the wet mop cloth in the kitchen, and then apologized to the rest of my family for not having mopped the kitchen floor since, well, forever. But again, the pad dried out before I finished. I really think the Swiffer WetJet is the way to go for easy mopping. Only two wet cloths came with the Sweeper but if I had another one I would have tried mopping the bathroom, I’m sure the cloth wouldn’t have dried out before I got that floor done.

So I give the new Sweeper two thumbs up for the redesigned pole and handle, but no thumbs up for the wet mopping cloths. Buy a WetJet instead.

And HEY! Have I told you how much I love the Toyota Prius? I’d be more than happy to drive one and then write a review of it. It would be my pleasure, really.

Comments»

1. Nancy - March 3, 2006

High five, sistah! Good review. But if you’re apologizing for not dusting since like a month ago, I probably need to go light some major candles to do penance for the state of our house.

We have a Prius if you want to come try it out. You can’t have it though.

2. Snide - March 3, 2006

Mention a product, get asked to try out the new version? Ah, the power of the Internet… ;>

3. Dawn - March 3, 2006

Holy crapola! You mean companies are scrolling the Blogs looking for shoutouts? That rocks in a way I can’t even describe.

And we like the Carpet Flick. I bought Terrance one and he has enjoyed it.

4. Elizabeth - March 3, 2006

I’m telling you what, I was dumbstruck when that PR guy emailed me. I’m guessing they do Technorati searches on their products and my blog must have come up. Here I’m just a teeny, tiny dot in the blogging world, and a company still wanted my opinion. Like Dawn says, it rocks.

And Nancy, now I want to come visit you even more than ever!

5. MrsFortune - March 3, 2006

Oooh my … I must think of things to blog about, although in my current state I think I would just talk about double filet of fish from McDonald’s, pizza hut … um .. oh and some yogurt or kashi go lean or something like that.

I never could get into Swiffer, maybe I’m doing it wrong? It just doesn’t work for me!

6. Mother GooseMouse - March 3, 2006

Hmmm…I may have to try the WetJet. I like the mopping cloths for small areas, like the powder room and the girls’ bathroom, but it doesn’t work for the kitchen/breakfast room.

7. Elizabeth - March 3, 2006

Mrs. Fortune-There’s a DOUBLE filet of fish at McDonalds? Yum!

And if you don’t have hardwood floors, don’t bother with the Swiffer Sweeper, get the Swiffer Dusters instead. They are great for dusting bookshelves and the entertainment center. That’s my “professional” opinion 🙂

8. Shell - March 4, 2006

You know what else works if you’re out of Swiffer cloths? A polar fleece mitten! Works awesome for picking up dust. Of course, it’s even handier if you wear it (handier! get it? heh heh) and then just toss it in the wash.

Great review, btw. Good mix of humor and product info. :o)

9. TB - March 4, 2006

Holy crap, that is awesome! Who new businesses were actually checking out the opinions of lowly bloggers like us.

And being a fellow Swiffer fanatic, I appreciate your review.

Toyota, are you listening?

10. Elizabeth - March 4, 2006

shell-“handier” ha! But that is a good idea.

11. halloweenlover - March 5, 2006

Erm, I’d like to try out the Volvo XC90, in case anyone is paying attention.

I’d also like the opportunity to prove that money won’t make me happy. I’m just sayin’.


Leave a Reply

