jump to navigation

They Could Call It “American Olympic Idol” February 27, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was in the strangest mood this morning. I drove in to work with my husband so I could have the car, and we had this conversation:

Me: I could never be a school secretary. I could never remember the names of all those kids. I called this morning to let the office know I was picking the boys up early, and all I had to say to the secretary was “Hi, this is Elizabeth E. calling”, and she knew right away who our kids are. How does she remember that? Someone would call me and say “Hi, this is Suzy Creamcheese…”, and I’d have no idea who their kid was.

BC (Smiling): Frank! (Suzy Creamcheese is a reference to a Frank Zappa song)

Me: Do you think Suzy Creamcheese’s kid is named Philly?

BC: Ha ha.

Then, on the drive home, the radio DJ said that more people watched ‘American Idol’ than the Olympics, and he suggested that what the Olympics needed was a judge like Simon. Which caused me to zone out and think up this:

Olympic Announcer: Bode Miller has just finished his last run of the day, and he has skiied up to the judges’ table. Let’s listen to what they have to say.

Randy: Bode, Dawg. Dawg! That was some awesome skiing! A little rough in the middle, you went off course for a minute, but you got it back together at the end and finished strong. Good job, Dawg!

Paula: I totally agree with Randy. That was terrific! You really raised the level of the competition with your performance. I think you’re great.

Simon: I have to give you my honest opinion, Bode. That was terrible. (Boooo from spectators) Really awful. That was the worst skiing I have ever seen. I just don’t think you have what it takes to be an Olympic champion, sorry.

This is what goes on inside my brain, people. It’s a scary place sometimes.

Comments»

1. Nixie Knox - February 27, 2006

I wish they could do the Olympics in, like, a day. I don’t have the attention span for it. I am telling you they were running the closing ceremony stuff on MSNBC, I think, and I was thinking, “Sheesh, the Olympics are still going?” I live in a cave.

2. Trisha - February 27, 2006

I Love It!

I would watch a lot more of the Olympics is the judging was like that! Very funny.

3. Elizabeth - February 27, 2006

Nixie-I know what you mean. And almost all my favorite shows are on NBC, so I’ve been grouchy about missing them. I was SO over the Olympics about a week ago.

Trisha-Thank you! But it would never happen, ’cause the athletes have delicate feelings and all.

4. Dawn - February 27, 2006

Sadly, i also have a internal mind game called,

“What’s the MOST inappropriate thing I could say/do at this moment”

It usually kicks in when I am in a meeting or some other adult moment.

5. Arabella - February 27, 2006

Mmmmm…..creamcheese.

6. Beth - February 27, 2006

ha! Dawn – i can totally relate. i am infamous for “funeral giggles”. My mind is always thinking up insane things at the wrong time.

Elizabeth — I made the Cola Chicken for dinner last night!!

IT WAS EXCELLENT!! SO SO GOOD!!

7. Purl_Princess - February 27, 2006

LOL – Philly!

8. TB - February 27, 2006

Haha! I’d like to set up shop inside your brain when I’m having a bad day :o)

9. Tigerlily - February 27, 2006

LMAO! Philly?! Ha ha ha!

Love the Simon talk too!

10. Meg - February 28, 2006

That was brilliant.

Also, I’m secretly happy the Olympics are over too. I’m so sick of taling to people about ice skating. Honestly, who cares?

11. Nancy - February 28, 2006

LOL! I might actually watch the Olympics if the judging was that entertaining! 😉

12. Elizabeth - February 28, 2006

Roo said Blogger was acting up, so I’m leaving this to check.

Dawn-Why does that not surprise me? 🙂

Arabella-Having it right now on an Everything bagel…mmmm….

Beth-I’m so glad you liked it!

Purl Princess-Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

tb-Feel free to borrow my brain any time you want, dear!

Tigerlily and Nancy-Thanks!

Meg-I KNOW, right? Blah blah blah shorttrackspeedskating blahblah 🙂


Leave a Reply

