jump to navigation

Everything Old is New Again February 25, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m sure I read somewhere that music trends go in 20 year cycles. That in any given year, the music you hear remade by new bands is usually from 20 years earlier, give or take a few years. The soundtrack from the movie “Sky High” is proof of that fact.

Soundtrack: (Original Song):
1. I Melt With You – Bowling For Soup (Modern English, 1982)
2. Through Being Cool – They Might Be Giants (Devo, 1978-Even older!)
3. Save It For Later – Flashlight Brown (The English Beat, 1982)
4. Everybody Wants To Rule The World – Christian Burns (Tears for Fears, 1984)
5. One Thing Leads To Another – Steven Straight (The Fixx, 1983)
6. Lies – The Click 5 (Thompson Twins, 1983)
7. Voices Carry – Vitamin C (‘Til Tuesday, 1985)
8. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want – Elefant (The Smiths, 1984)
9. True – Cary Brothers (Spandau Ballet, 1983)
10. Just What I Needed – Caleigh Peters (The Cars, 1990-A little newer)
11. Can’t Stop The World – Ginger Sling (Go-Go’s, 1981)
12. And She Was – Keaton Simons (Talking Heads, 1990-also newer)
13. Twist And Crawl – Skindred (The English Beat, 1980)

Researching this post took me right back to my freshman year of college, 1985. I went to a high school where Top 40 and Album Rock were the only music you heard. We listened to The Who, Led Zeppelin, Bruce Springsteen. I’d never even heard of British new-wave until I arrived at college and heard what my new friends were listening to. As cliche as it sounds, it was like a whole new world opened up to me. Tears for Fears’ Songs From The Big Chair, ‘Til Tuesday’s Voices Carry, The Smith’s Hatful of Hollow, along with The Cure’s The Head On The Door and Squeeze’s Singles-these were the albums and cassette tapes I played over and over and over.

The “Sky High” soundtrack is a pleasant surprise, it’s nice to hear these old songs again. I may have just found some new bands to listen to. Bowling For Soup’s I Melt With You is good, so is Keaton Simons’ And She Was. You can listen to the soundtrack here if you want.

Comments»

1. Dawn - February 25, 2006

Oddly enough, when I took Em to see Sky High at the theater I also felt quite at home in that soundtrack.

But I too am an 1988 College Freshman. Are we showing our age my dear? I heard some re-make of “Black Coffee in Bed” on the radio and I about had a FIT! The Horror! Don’t mess with Squeeze. And don’t make me think that Robert Smith most likely has a kid who is 16 and hates his father. Or that maybe Morrissey is no longer celibate.

2. Nancy - February 25, 2006

It probably says a lot about my college timeframe, too, that I recognize almost all of the original songs and artists, and almost none of the artists doing the remakes.

And I agree with Dawn — do NOT mess with a girl’s Squeeze.

3. sweatpantsmom - February 25, 2006

I guess if I had known that the music was decent I wouldn’t have ignored my kids when they asked to go see this. I was still recovering from being subjected to ‘Garfield.’

Tears For Fears ‘…Rule The World’ is still one of my favorites.

4. Mary Tsao - February 26, 2006

The Smiths! The Cure! I was a 1986 college freshman and you’d better believe it was all about the music. I remember feeling so disenfranchised and truly believing that the artists were speaking to me with their lyrics, that they were the only ones who understood.

I hope I can remember that long enough to cut my own kids some slack when they do nothing but sit in their rooms all day listening to music.

5. Nixie Knox - February 26, 2006

I love all that 80s music. M has XM radio in his car and I have it tuned to channel 44, Fred, and all they play is 80s new wave. It is totally awesome, fer sure.

6. mama_tulip - February 26, 2006

I have “Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me” in the CD player in the van and Dave and I were just talking about “Songs From The Big Chair” yesterday. Really — music was awesome in the 80s.

7. Izzy - February 26, 2006

I remember when I discovered Brit new wave/synth pop etc. It was all so alternative. We were subversives and weirdos for listening to it (which I found terribly appealing). I realize other states, like California were much more progressive and you didn’t have to find some obscure 2 watt community radio or college station to hear that stuff. But in Florida…you did. As you noted, it was like a whole new world for me, too. Thanks for the stroll down memory lane 🙂

8. Meg - February 28, 2006

I have to listen to that soundtrack because I LOVE all of those songs. Also, Bowling for soup is a really good band. They had a hit that was nominated for a grammy a few years ago. They are kinda like bare naked ladies, but not really.

9. Mother GooseMouse - March 3, 2006

That soundtrack makes me twitch. I would imagine our parents felt much the same way when Tiffany covered “I Saw Him (HER!) Standing There”.

I’m not dissing the new artists, but some things should just be left alone.


Leave a Reply

