jump to navigation

Paging Dr. Seuss February 15, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

So yesterday I’m visiting Nathan’s first grade classroom and I’m wandering around looking at things while the kids get ready to leave. As a devoted lover of childrens’ books I’m particularly interested in the plastic bins of books on the bookshelves, each labelled by author. My eye falls on the bin of Dr. Seuss, only something is wrong. I slide the bin out and hold it up in front of my face. I’m scowling at it, I know something is wrong, what is it? I try not to gasp out loud as I realize what it is. The label on the bin says “Dr. Suess”. S-U-E-S-S instead of S-E-U-S-S. I pick up the topmost book and check the author credit just to make sure I haven’t been spelling it wrong all these years. Nope.

It only took me a fraction of a second to decide that pointing it out to the teacher would just be awkward. “Oh, ha ha Mrs. B, Seuss is spelled wrong on this label! Ha, ha!” So the question is, do I tell her? Maybe that bin of books has been there since before she got that classroom and she just never noticed. But I know it’s going to drive me crazy just knowing it’s there, and it’s wrong.

Comments»

1. Nancy - February 15, 2006

Ugh, I had a similar experience at Big-A’s school — they were doing a lesson on the letter J and the easel where the teachers had listed J words had several that were misspelled. I decided not to say anything because I figured most of the kids can’t read at this point, so the exercise was probably intended to be more verbal. Plus I’m a coward like that…

2. Tigerlily - February 15, 2006

Surreptitiously make a new label and replace the old one?

3. mama_tulip - February 15, 2006

I’m with Tigerlily. It would drive me nuts and I’d do what she said, LOL.

4. Beth - February 15, 2006

i know, i noticed a misspelling on a poster at Davey’s school. it drives me INSANE — but I’m too chicken to point it out.

or maybe you could just peel off the label quietly and throw it in the trash..?

5. Mother GooseMouse - February 15, 2006

Well, I’m a judgmental b!tch, so I’d say something. Then again, I would have said something even if I was seven. Better that it come from another adult than from a child, right?

6. Elizabeth - February 15, 2006

See, now why didn’t I think of that? I could have surreptitiously spilled some red punch on it and offered to make a new label. Sneaky, you guys are!

7. Nixie Knox - February 15, 2006

I would secretly replace the label. That is soooo awful when that kind of stuff happens. Spelling errors in a classroom make me cringe.

8. Mightymouse Mommy - February 15, 2006

I have had this sort of experience ALL YEAR LONG with Lou’s science teacher but it’s not just spelling, it’s all kinds of basic science stuff SHE SHOULD KNOW. And we’re not talking about children that can’t read, Lou’s 13 for pete sake.

So far she’s told him that there’s no such thing as a below sea level terrain that’s NOT under water (ever heard of Death Valley?)

That Death Valley is below sea level and not submerged because THEY BUILT LEVIES to keep the water out (no lie, she told him this when he pointed out Death Valley was below sea level *as one example*.)

That there is no such thing as a live liver donor.

That the human liver cannot regenerate missing pieces.

There’s been other things, but these are the ones coming to mind at 11:30 at night. It drives me insane that this woman is even in front of children. She should be locked in a room with a set of Encyclopedia Britanica.

For me, I would personally say something, away from the children and in a low voice, like “I only noticed this because I’m neurotic, but I thought you might want to know that you spelled Dr. Seuss’s name wrong on that bin over there.” That way it simply makes it seem like it was a genuine oversight that could have happened to anyone but you noticed it because YOU’RE picky and you’re just trying to be helpful. But that’s me.

9. TB - February 16, 2006

You could tell Nathan to point it out to his teacher, or that could go horribly wrong if he said “My mommy said this word is spelled wrong”. Yeah, never mind.

10. Dawn - February 16, 2006

I would offer to re-label all her bins – cause I think my own handwriting is the shit. That way I could correct it AND make her think I am a goddess.

Then I would most likely overcompensate by buying 8 billion new markers and sending them in to assuage my own guilt.

11. Elizabeth - February 16, 2006

Thanks for all the great suggestions! Parent-teacher conferences are next month so when we go to the classroom I’ll figure out a way to bring it up. I just really hope I don’t embarass her.

12. Meg - February 16, 2006

I never, ever would have noticed that. In fact, I most likely would have typed that label. Even though I’ve read just about everything by the good doctor.

13. swissreplica6 - January 15, 2007

hello, it’s good idea


Leave a Reply

