jump to navigation

Recipes for Cola Chicken and Spaghetti Sauce February 14, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

You asked for it in the comments on my last post so here it is:

Cola Chicken
Recipe taken from Taste of Home’s Quick Cooking magazine, submitted by Keri Lawson
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts *
1 can (12 oz.) Coke
1 cup ketchup
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
4 1/2 tsp. cornstarch
3 Tbsp. cold water
In a skillet, saute onion in oil until tender. Add chicken; brown on all sides. Carefully add cola, ketchup, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer 25-30 minutes or until chicken juices run clear. Remove the chicken and keep warm. Combine the cornstarch and cold water until smooth; add to skillet. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.Return chicken to the pan and heat through.
*You want to use at least a pound of b/s chicken breasts, not the tenders.
I recommend serving this with mashed potatoes and steamed frozen peas. You’ll have extra sauce which is delicious on the potatoes. Let me know if you make this and how you liked it!
Edwards’ Family Favorite Spaghetti Sauce
I have been tweaking this recipe for around 8 years. I think I’ve got it right. Makes 8 cups
1 large chopped onion
1 good size spoonful of minced garlic (from a jar, around 2 tsps.)
1 Tbsp. Olive oil (use just enough to coat the bottom of a large skillet)
28 oz. can Dei Fratelli brand Chopped Italian Tomatoes with Herbs and Olive Oil
28 oz. can Dei Fratelli Concentrated Italian Style Crushed Tomatoes
15 oz. can Dei Fratelli Tomato Sauce
1 roll Bob Evans Italian Sausage
Kosher Salt
Garlic Powder
Italian Seasoning
Bottle of Merlot (I buy a cheap one since we don’t drink it)
In a large skillet, saute the onion and garlic in oil until soft, stirring frequently. Cut open the sausage wrapper and add the sausage to the skillet by breaking off small pieces and dropping them in. Wash your hands, and then cook the sausage until brown and finely crumbled.
Transfer the sausage mixture to a large pot, and add all the tomato products. Bring just to a boil and then reduce the heat so it keeps simmering. Liberally sprinkle the surface with the salt, garlic powder and italian seasoning, stirring after each addition- add the amount that tastes right to you. Finish with a few glugs of Merlot. I don’t measure but it’s probably around 1/2 cup. Turn the heat down as low as it will go and still keep the sauce simmering. Partially cover the pot and leave it on the stove for at least two hours, stirring occasionally.
Serve over thin spaghetti noodles which have been cooked in salted water with a little olive oil added. Delicious with garlic bread, tossed green salad and canned corn. And big glasses of milk.
So there you go! I’m always looking for easy things to make for dinner so why not post your favorites? I can’t be the only one who dreads the nightly “what were you thinking about making for dinner?” question.
Oh, and Tigerlily? Feel free to add chopped broccoli if you want to but I don’t recommend it:)

Comments»

1. Nancy - February 15, 2006

Cool, I always need new dinner ideas. Thanks for sharing.

2. TB - February 15, 2006

I have to say that is one of the most unique recipes I’ve ever seen! And Kaitlyn is so adorable in those last two pictures. She looks so delicate.

3. Fraulein N - February 15, 2006

The chicken sounds do-able! Unlike some recipes, I know what all of that stuff is. I have most of that stuff! I will definitely have to try this.

4. Dawn - February 15, 2006

That Baby is DAMN CUTE

5. Mightymouse Mommy - February 15, 2006

Because Chris and I have been on SBD since November (and off and on in December. and January. and half of February lol) I have tons of easy very healthy dinner recipes. Once I get the new domain registered (hopefully by the end of today even) I’m going to have a “big butt blogging” section for those of us that are trying to lose a little extra to all support each other – I’ll list a bunch of the more scrumptious recipes there though for you.

Here’s a new one that I just invented (well I took ideas from other recipes and changed them up a bit) two nights ago and have already been requested to put it on this week’s menu.

Pork Tenderloin and saucy beans
Serves 4

4 Boneless Pork Tenderloin chops
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 teaspoon crushed, dried rosemary
1 TBSPN Olive Oil
1 can chili tomato paste w/diced tomatoes
1 15oz can red kidney beans
4-5 cloves minced garlic

Drain and rinse beans, set aside.

In a small bowl mix dry spices and rub into pork loins, both sides

heat oil in skillet and add 2 cloves minced garlic, saute just until tender.
Add chops and brown 3 – 4 minutes each side, remove and drain skillet.

Add tomato paste, kidney beans and remaining minced garlic, mix and heat. Re-add the chops, spoon mixture over chops, cover and simmer about 10 minutes (until pork is cooked through.)

Serve covered in bean sauce.

It was SO quick, SO easy and oh so scrumptious. My eldest even said he could see it being on the menu of a local very expensive restaurant here.

6. Mightymouse Mommy - February 15, 2006

Oh and TB, Kaitybug is so very delicate but my God is she yummy. I just want to hug and kiss her and smooch and nuzzle her every time I see her picture. Elizabeth and I have decided that yes, indeed, she is the muffinist little baby girl on the planet. 🙂

7. Mary Tsao - February 15, 2006

Those recipes sound yummy!! I might try the cola chicken tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes!

8. halloweenlover - February 15, 2006

I need some time with that beautiful baby to make me smile. Send her to Boston!

I’m going to try the recipe with tofu instead of chicken!

9. Beth - February 15, 2006

oooh! big smooches to Kaitlyn!!

she is a buttery little muffin!

so psyched to try out the recipes — when i was trying to explain the chicken recipe to David I called it “Coked-Out Chicken.”

i guess my dinner needs to go to rehab.

10. Elizabeth - February 15, 2006

LOL Beth! That is definitely NOT the secret ingredient!

11. Snide Remarker - February 16, 2006

Maybe it’s just me, but the spagatti sauce I make is basicly add a bunch of stuff to a crockpot, turn on, and enjoy 10hs later. That recipie seems like a lot of work. (never fell in love with a skillet though)

12. Elizabeth - February 16, 2006

well, “snide remarker”, the spaghetti sauce takes me maybe 15 minutes to get ready, including chopping the onion, browning the sausage and throwing everything in a pot. If you’d like to post your recipe, I’d be happy to try it.

13. Snide - February 17, 2006

Didn’t think you’d noticed me posting a couple of entries back.
;>
Hmm, I must just be a slow skillet person, always seems to take me so long.

Family Spaghetti Sauce

1 large can of tomatoes
1 large can of tomato paste
1 large can of tomato sauce
1 can of mushrooms
1 pound of ground meat (I use ground turkey)
1 packet of spaghetti spices (McCormick’s Thick and Zesty Spaghetti Sauce Mix is my norm)
1 cup of diced celery
1 diced onion
1 bay leaf (remove before serving)

Cook ground meat, add everything to a crockpot set for ~10 hours. Serve atop a bed of spaghetti noodles with garlic bread on the side.

14. jen - February 19, 2006

the sauce recipe sounds great. Your little girl is so cute! so sweet.

15. Izzy - February 22, 2006

What a sweet photo! She’s so alert for 3 months.


Leave a Reply

