jump to navigation

Tagged (Sort Of) January 28, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Whenever I read a Meme on someone’s blog, I always mentally answer the questions. I’ve never been officially tagged for one, but Tammie at Soul Gardening posted this one and issued an open invitation. So I’m giving it a try.

4 jobs I have had:
1. My first job was as salad-bar attendant at Bonanza, a buffet-style restaurant. Then Taco Bell, where I cooked taco meat 5 pounds at a time and made “refried” beans, a cake of lard stirred into powdered beans.
2. Software tester for an educational software company. We played kids’ computer games all day, looking for glitches.
3. Data entry for a County Commissioner. I made photocopies of Voter Registration cards and then sorted them alphabetically and then by county. I set my own hours and worked from my apartment.
4. Telemarketer for Public Radio and Public Television. We got paid bonuses based on how much money we raised and how many people we talked into paying with their credit card. I got fired for “saving” credit card pledges for the next day.

4 Movies I Watch Over and Over:
1. You’ve Got Mail
2. Clerks/Dogma/Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
3. Dude, Where’s My Car?
4. Ocean’s 11

4 Places I Have Lived: All of these are in Michigan
1. Jackson
2. Grand Rapids
3. Bloomfield Hills
4. Okemos and then Lansing

4 TV Shows I Love:
1. All the Law & Orders
2. Lost
3. 24
4. Reruns of Buffy the Vampire Slayer

4 Favorite Books:
1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
2. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
3. The Stand (Expanded and Uncut Edition) by Stephen King
4. Everything written by Dean Koontz

4 Places I Have Vacationed:
1. Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2. Chicago (Took the kids to the Navy Pier, Field Museum and Museum of Science & Industry)
3. Oceanside, California
4. Mackinac Island and Tahquamenon Falls, MI (Honeymoon)

4 Websites I Read Every Day:
1. Everyone on my blogroll plus any links they have that look interesting
2. Yahoo! homepage to skim for news and check email
3. Fark.com
4. Overheard in New York

Since I wasn’t tagged I won’t tag anyone else, but if you read this and think of some interesting answers, please post them. And so on and so on.

Comments»

1. Dawn - January 28, 2006

I think the image of the lard mixing with the powdered beans made me throw up in my mouth a little…

2. Elizabeth - January 28, 2006

Dawn, BC worked for Taco Bell a few years after I did and they stopped using the lard. But it was just as gross as you think.

3. mama_tulip - January 28, 2006

I used to work at KFC and it was just as rank as it sounds like working at Taco Bell was for you. Blech.

4. Mother GooseMouse - January 28, 2006

Kyle worked at T Bell in high school. Apparently it was post-lard, because he loves bean burritos and still eats at T Bell whenever he has the chance.

And I will admit that I love “You’ve Got Mail”. I’m such a sap. That little cafe is right across from the children’s museum in New York.

5. Nancy - January 29, 2006

J worked for Wendy’s and he loved it, despite some of the gross stuff he certainly saw there (he actually says breakfast was the worse, and they don’t serve breakfast anymore, so he’s still able to eat there.)

I’m another Handmaid’s Tale girl myself. Love that book.

I’ve always wanted to visit Mackinac Island since I read a young adult book about it in middle school. Sounds like a neat place.

6. NixieKnox - January 29, 2006

My first job was at Dunkin Donuts when I was 14. I had really awful hours, but all the free donuts you could eat! Just a word to the wise, I would steer clear of the Dutch Crumb.

7. Elizabeth - January 29, 2006

Nancy-Mackinac Island is beautiful and fun to visit. I highly recommend it if you ever come to Michigan in the summer.

Nixie-why? Is the “crumb” made with floor sweepings or something?

8. TB - January 29, 2006

My first job was at Taco Bell. Our beans came already mixed in a huge grey tub, like the kind you get in the airport security line. Despite working there and eating the food every day, it is still my favorite fast food restaurant. I’m not ashamed to say sometimes I crave those beans.
I love The Stand. It’s about time for me to re-read it again. Have you read IT? That is my second favorite Stephen King book.

9. Elizabeth - January 29, 2006

tb-Okay, confession time. I read “It” in the summer of 1986, I was 19 years old and home from college. My favorite time to read was and is at night before falling asleep. After the first chapter, I was so scared I started sleeping with the closet light on. I didn’t stop reading at night before bed, I just let “It” scare the bejesus out of me and read the rest of the book while peeking anxiously towards my closet door hoping nothing was hiding in there. At 19 years old.

10. Stacy - February 4, 2006

Hey, I didn’t know you honeymooned in Mackinaw too! So did we and we go back for our anniversary every year. This year we brought back an awesome souvenir 😉


Leave a Reply

