jump to navigation

Now with more “truthiness” January 18, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Look! A new template, do you like it? The pink was just boring, and blue is my favorite color anyway. Of course, I DID NOT COPY MY LINK LIST before clicking “okay”. So now I have to recreate the whole damn list. If I previously linked to you and forget to add you to the new blogroll, please! Send me a comment or an email and tell my dumb ass. The second the Index finished Republishing and I saw the empty Links I hit my head and yelled “D’oh”.

Speaking of “truthiness” (copyright Stephen Colbert, or the dictionary, there’s some controversy), could someone please tell me what the hell Ray Nagin was thinking Monday? God sent the hurricanes because we have troops in Iraq? Huh? He says he was talking to a minister before making the remarks, was that minister Pat Robertson?

Did you know Pat Robertson sells an “Age-Defying Protein Shake” recipe on his website? He also makes “Age-Defying Protein Pancakes”. Don’t worry, I haven’t been watching his show or anything, it was on The Colbert Report last night. Colbert brought out a plate of pancakes, took a bite, and said something Pat-like, I wish I could remember what it was. Something about feminists.
====================================================

Did you watch “American Idol” last night? Simon was just MEAN. I think he told one kid he reminded him of a rat. Another guy had an orange and yellow striped shirt, Simon told him he looked like a wasp. Then there was the guy who was barefoot and kept leaping into the air and yelping. He could not sing, yet they put him through to Hollywood. Just to be cruel, I guess. Oh, and then there was the girl who was talking to the camera, another girl came out of the audition with the yellow paper, and the first girl said “I heard her sing, she wasn’t that good.” Then they almost had a rumble right there in the lobby. There were two pairs of twins, the first pair were both really good and got through, the second pair were iffy but they walked up to Paula and held her hand while singing to her so they got through also. A girl from the Ukraine wanted to win so she could get a “performer Visa”. Her singing was terrible and accompanied by stripper moves. Seriously. So it was fun, Ryan and I laughed our heads off. It’s on again tonight too.

I also watched the FOUR HOUR season premiere of “24” this week, without giving away major spoilers I’ll just say that there were some shocking moments, Sean Astin is now playing the head of CTU, Jean Smart is playing the new First Lady, and there was no torture. And what is “24” without a good torture scene? Also, Chloe? Totally getting sex this season. Good for her.

Comments»

1. Beth - January 18, 2006

Yay! Those were both the shows I watched, too! The older I get, the hotter Kiefer Sutherland looks to me — I like his grown up chiseled face — a far cry from his bloated Lost Boys vampire thing. And – yeah – Simon was such an a-hole last night. I wished they focused more on talent and less on looks — not that there was a lot of talent last night!! Here’s hoping tonight is better!

2. Nancy - January 18, 2006

I think I have been holed up in another world lately and therefore unaware of current events, because I have not heard any of the things you mention or seen any of the TV shows you did. I need to get me out from under my rock.

I like the blue! šŸ™‚

3. Mightymouse Mommy - January 19, 2006

I couldn’t believe Nagin. I sat there and watched with my mouth agape. It was almost worse than when William Bennett said it would lower crime to “abort all black babies.” Especially saying that the hurricane’s were God’s way of showing he was upset about the war in Iraq. I don’t like the war any more than he does, I’m sure, but if the hurricane’s were God’s way of saying anything it was “Quit pumping toxic gas into the air that all of my creatures breath and need for UV protection!” lol

Believe it or not for the first time since the first season we watched the premier of AI and you’re right, man Simon was down right vicious. How about the guy that followed their advice from the previous year only to return to be told by Simon that he should shave his facial hair and become a girl??! What an a$$.

Chris and I are just this season starting to watch 24. Chris is a junkie for series and we’re waiting for Denis Leary’s “Rescue Me” to start back up. We only saw the first 2 hours though, I hope we TIVO’d the other 2. I have to admit, the premiere did intrigue.

Anyway, see you tomorrow Sis. I need to get some work done before the maintenance guy shows up to look for a non-existent leak in our bathroom. /sigh

4. Jen - January 19, 2006

I could not believe Nagin either. Maybe he was taking speech advice from Bush? šŸ˜‰ I cannot stand when people bring God into obvious acts of nature…it’s maddening. Anyway…I love the Colbert Report as well. He is just too funny. Like your blog….

5. Nixie Knox - January 19, 2006

Love “24.” As always, Jack is a total bad ass! And I am quite happy for socially ineffectual Chloe, who needs all the love she can get. Don’t you love the Colbert Report? He makes me laugh so hard I almost pee my pants!

6. Mabel - January 20, 2006

Lurve the new template. Apparently there’s a lot of that going around šŸ™‚

PS: Your word verification is 11 letters this time?? What the heck!

7. Woman with kids - January 20, 2006

It seems God has been busy. Did Pat Robertson say he caused Sharon to have a stroke because they going to divide up “his land?”

8. Jess - January 20, 2006

I like the blue.

Jack Bauer rocks. J and I agreed that he is the ultimate weapon. Everyone should have a mini Jack Bauer in her purse.

9. Dawn - January 20, 2006

I love Stephen Combert. I loved the pancakes.
I love the new template.

And I keep meaning to get teh DVDs of 24 and watch them all, so I can watch the new season, but I always forget.

Keifer is a “Ring my bell” boy from a long way back. I concur. He is cuter as he gets older.

10. Belinda - January 21, 2006

We TiVo’d 24 but didn’t watch it yet…but yeah, Chloe!! I love that character, and the actress does SUCH a great job with it. I thought last season was the best season ever, and can’t wait to see what they do this time. Hope it doesn’t disappoint.

Do you Netflix? If you do, join my “friends” list!

11. jenfromboston - January 21, 2006

Love the new template – v. easy on the eyes too.

I saw the AI show as well, and bizarre. Mike likes to see the trainwrecks (remember The Tan Girl – and then they asked to see her mom?) but I like to see the folks who can bring it. Speaking of TTG- it looked as tho they showed her twice (diff outfits). I think they must bring a few people back to re-enact their shitty audition. Talk about cruel.
Yeha, leapy barefoot buy worked my last available nerve.

“Truthiness” – I hadn’t heard that yet. Will not 5-finger disount that one. I also love it when Colbert ascertains, “I can’t prove it, but I can say it.”


Leave a Reply

