jump to navigation

And Now for Something Completely Different January 5, 2006

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ryan brought this poem home from school yesterday, it is a reminder from the teacher to dress appropriately for going outside at recess. As soon as I read it I knew I wanted to post it. I hope it doesn’t break any copyright laws as long as I credit the author. I like it for a couple of reasons- it has a fun rhyme scheme, and the ending reminds me of what happens to Ralphie’s brother Randy in “A Christmas Story”. Hope you enjoy it too.

“Winter Clothes” by Karla Kuskin

Under my hood I have a hat
And under that
My hair is flat.
Under my coat
My sweater’s blue.
My sweater’s red.
I’m wearing two.
My muffler muffles to my chin
And round my neck
And then tucks in.
My gloves were knitted
By my aunts.
I’ve mittens too
And pants
And pants
And boots
And shoes
With socks inside.
The boots are rubber, red and wide.
And when I walk
I must not fall
Because I can’t get up at all.

I love her use of the word “muffles”, and how she rhymes “aunts” with “pants” and then repeats it to fit the meter. Like I said, something different for your reading pleasure.

Comments»

1. Nancy - January 5, 2006

That is a great poem. I love the ones that use such lyrical language and descriptive verse.

2. Mary Tsao - January 6, 2006

I remember dressing like this when I lived in Chicago as a kid. We used to play King of the Mountain on the heaps of plowed snow. That was fun.

3. Elizabeth - January 6, 2006

Mary-King of the Mountain is no longer allowed at recess (at least at my kids’school) because kids were complaining about the pushing. Which is kind of the whole point of the game,but nowadays a school could get sued if some kid got hurt.

4. Fraulein N - January 7, 2006

I really liked that. It reminds me of dressing for the cold when I was a kid.


Leave a Reply

