jump to navigation

Crawling out of bed to say Hello! November 25, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

AND HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

Hi everybody, thank you so much for checking in while I was at the hospital. There’s so much to tell I hardly know where to start, plus I really don’t want to ruin anyone’s Thanksgiving by going into too much detail. I guess I should start with the basics. Thursday the 17th I went in for a blood pressure check, and it was 180/100. The Doctor immediately decided that I should be admitted to the hospital for observation, and got the O.R. booked for the 18th. So I came home, packed a few things, and went back to check in. Thursday was uneventful, blood pressure checks and blood drawn every four hours, BC and I watched TV and I ate normally until midnight. Surgery was scheduled for 1:00 p.m. Friday.

Friday morning they started getting me ready, of course when it was time to shave my belly there were about 10 people in the room. It seemed like every intern and resident in the department wanted to watch. I was surprised to learn that I would not be having an epidural but a spinal injection instead. The only downside to that is that a spinal wears off a lot faster, so from the time you get it the procedures have to move along quickly. Which meant I had a catheter put in before I was numb. Um, OUCH. Despite what the anesthesiologist said, I still thought the spinal hurt like a son of a bitch. I tried very hard to be brave but I did cry out a few times, and I thought I would tear the nurse’s thumb right off her hand.

I went numb quickly and the procedure started. If you’ve never had a c-section it’s hard to explain, you can sense what is happening but can’t really feel it. It’s more like an awareness. The surgeon found lots of old scar tissue from my two previous sections plus some bowel adhesions. She later told me she tried to cut in the same place so at least I wouldn’t have more scar tissue. Kaitlyn seemed to come out quickly and started crying immediately. The surgeon said, “I think she’s mad at me!”. She seemed very little, and pink, and her head was covered in light blonde fuzz, like a baby chick. I felt such a wave of emotion, relief that she was perfectly formed, everything in the right place, and that being born early didn’t seem to have affected her at all.

Next came the tubal ligation, THAT was weird. There was a laser, and a strange noise, and maybe even some smoke, although I may have imagined that. Then the extremely unpleasant re-inserting of all of my internal organs, which involves two people pushing REALLY HARD on your bowels , bladder and uterus. It doesn’t hurt, but it is very uncomfortable. Then it was done.

The spinal injection included morphine, so I pretty much slept all the rest of Friday and into Saturday. BC spent the night Friday, but Saturday he wanted to go home and rest so Kaitlyn stayed in the nursery. I began to feel waves of nausea, which the nurses assumed were just a result of the operation. They started injecting anti-nausea medicine into the IV. When BC got to the hospital Sunday, he had the news that he had spent most of Saturday night throwing up. Only THEN did the nurses tell me that there were some other patients on the floor who seemed to have contracted a stomach virus. Great. Sure enough, by Sunday evening, I started projectile vomiting greenish-black bile. Yes, out of my MOUTH. There are not enough words to describe just how incredibly foul that was. So they cranked up the IV fluids, increased the anti-nausea medicine, and told me I would just have to ride it out. Gastro-freakin’-Enteritis, which I caught AT THE HOSPITAL. Who knows, if I had hung in there another week, it might have passed through and I might not have spent three days in HELL. Because after the vomiting, it started coming out the other end, with absolutely no warning at all, I went through so many gowns and sheet changes it was ridiculous.

By Tuesday the volume was slowing down, and although I still felt like I’d been hit by a truck, I was making some progress. They really couldn’t keep the baby any more, so she was discharged. I’ve always known that BC was an amazing person, but the fact that he took home this tiny baby for whom he was completely responsible with no help at all, is just, wow. I still have not changed a diaper, given her a bath, changed her clothes, or actually done anything but hold her while she drinks a bottle. Oh yes, I was too sick to pump, now my milk is in and she has no idea why I’m shoving this fleshy thing into her mouth or what the heck she is supposed to do with it.

Anyway, Wednesday the Doctor decided to see how I would handle some solid food. I drank a few sips of juice,ate a tiny handful of dry Cheerios, and a bite of banana, and didn’t throw it up. So I passed the test and was discharged. Keep in mind I am still having a small amount of diarrhea, plus I’m taking Darvocet for pain, of which I have a considerable amount. Interestingly it’s not the C-section incision that hurts, it’s internal pain from the tubal ligation. When I stand up I have to clutch my belly and even then it still hurts a lot. And the Darvocet makes me dizzy and beyond tired.

But as cute as Kaitlyn looks in the pictures, she’s even prettier in real life. She has a beautiful peaches-and-cream complexion, a little round nose, and a cleft in her chin. She even tries to hold her head up already. We think she is the most amazing little girl we’ve ever seen.

I’m running out of steam now, so I’m going to wrap this up. I know many of you have e-mailed me and I’ll do my best to get back to you personally just as soon as I can. Thanks again for all of your caring comments and good wishes. You all rock.

Comments»

1. Nancy - November 24, 2005

Wow, what a story. I am impressed with both you and BC for getting through that horror successfully and having a beautiful girl as the end result.

Can’t wait to see more pics — once you’re well rested. Take care of yourself!

2. Beth - November 24, 2005

i am so glad that you are home and starting the road to recovery. and she is such a precious little love!! i just want to eat her up!! and HUGE kudos to BC and the boys — what great men they are!

3. Mary Tsao - November 24, 2005

What an amazing story! I felt your pain when you were describing the projectile vomiting and “other end” stuff. What a horrible thing to have going on while recovering from a C-section. I’m glad you have such an awesome family and that you’re so relaxed about it. Maybe with #3 you take things more in stride? What you went through would have felled a lesser woman, that’s for sure.

Happy Thanksgiving to you! You definitely have a lot to be thankful for…

4. NixieKnox - November 25, 2005

What a story, Elizabeth! I had a c-section with both my babies and with D I had a spinal rather than an epidural. I hope that you are feeling better – the flu absolutely sucks and I can’t imagine what it would be like after a c-section and a tubal ligation.

Kaitlyn is so gorgeous! I can’t wait to see more pics when you are feeling better!

Congrats, congrats, congrats and Happy Thanksgiving!

5. Mother GooseMouse - November 26, 2005

That’s just horrific. I’m glad you had the energy to post, but I hope you will stay in bed and get well (and enjoy Kaitlyn as much as possible – she is such a doll!). Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!

6. Dawn - November 27, 2005

I am so glad you are doing better – slowly. The flu is terrible on it’s own – but with the tubal and the c-section?
Egad.

What good men you have raised!! Kudos Mom!

7. TB - November 28, 2005

I hope you feel better soon. Kaitlyn is beautiful and it looks like she has your exact chin and mouth.
Congratulations again.

8. Stacy - December 1, 2005

More Pics!!! 🙂

9. Snide - December 2, 2005

You haven’t gone and died on us, have you? More updates!


Leave a Reply

