jump to navigation

Just a few reasons why my Dad is so awesome October 31, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

One of these days I will have to put together a longer post on this subject, I could fill pages on all of the times my Dad has bailed me out (not that kind of bailing out thank goodness!), helped me through a major life transition, come to my rescue, etc. Of all the superlatives that I could use to describe him, the best one is unselfish. Despite his age and having his own physical ailments to think about, the minute he heard about my blood pressure and the almost-bedrest diagnosis, he immediately began thinking of all the ways he could help me and my family.

Last night, for example, he and his “lady friend” Jean (the kids call her Aunt Jean) brought over dinner from Boston Market. When they got to the one by his house it was full of a busload of girls from Ohio State so they drove a good ten miles to another one, then brought over enough food to feed all 6 of us plus leftovers. And can I just wax poetic here for a minute about how good that food was? Chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing, butternut squash, green beans, corn, and those corn muffins….really, really good. I may have an unnatural love for that gravy!

He then informed me that instead of spending Thanksgiving at my Grandma’s house, which he does every year, he’s going to buy one of those already cooked turkey dinners sold at every grocery store around here and bring it to our house so Chris doesn’t have to cook and I don’t have to stress out about it.

Finally, he called me about 4:00 today and told me he was coming to my house tonight to pass out candy to trick-or-treaters while Chris takes the boys out, saving me from having to jump up and down off the couch every few minutes. He lives in a condo neighborhood of almost all retirees and gets almost no kids at his door on Halloween.

So how’s that for unselfish? And kind, and generous, and loving, and…

I’m one lucky daughter, that’s for darn sure.

Comments»

1. Mary Tsao - October 31, 2005

That’s so sweet! I was 38 weeks pregnant last Halloween and getting one of the pre-made turkey dinners was the best decision I ever made.

So good I’m doing it again this year! Maybe next year I’ll feel like spending all day cooking…

2. Nixie Knox - November 1, 2005

Dads rock! My parents have always been very supportive and helpful – when my husband was out of town recently and I had a paper to do, my parents drove down from up north and stayed at my house. They made dinner, played with the kids, put them to bed (no small task) AND took them to school in the morning so I wouldn’t have to take the day off work. Then the next afternoon, my dad drove back up north by himself to go to an appointment. Dads rock! How is the blood pressure? I hope you are taking it easy and reading and getting pampered as much as possible because you know what is right around the corner…exciting wonderful crazy hectic blissful amazing babytimes!

3. Belinda - November 2, 2005

Oh, E., I am just crying and crying…this is just how my dad was. PLEASE give yours a HUGE hug and kiss from me, and tell him it’s from your friend who lost her wonderful dad so unfairly and too soon, and would give all her limbs to have him back again for just one more heart-to-heart and a hug in those big arms…tell him, OK?

4. Becki - November 2, 2005

Elizabeth, I have one of those dads, too. Your dad sounds wonderful, and I’d bet anything that if he read your post, he’d tell you he’s the lucky one.


Leave a Reply

