jump to navigation

Happy Halloween! October 31, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Thanks to Dr.’s orders and the Sci-Fi Channel, I am spending the day lying on the couch watching the Stephen King Miniseries version of “The Shining”. Although I have great respect for the original, in my opinion this is a much better movie. One thing that Stephen King does really well is flesh out his plots with details, little moments that drive the characters and the story forward. The original movie just didn’t have enough time to do that. Jack Nicholson pretty much had to go from zero to crazy in no time at all. This version has Steven Weber as Jack (remember him from “Wings”?), and he has plenty of time to start out disbelieving and slowly succumb to the evil. It would be much better to watch on DVD though as the commercials ruin the momentum.

On Saturday my Sister-in-law, her kids and her fiance came up from Toledo to visit. They brought a bunch of stuff for the baby, including the Fisher Price Ocean Wonders Aquarium, which I am always seeing on parents’ lists of stuff they couldn’t do without. There was trick-or-treating at the mall, but I of course couldn’t go due to the fact that it would require me to be on my feet and all. I couldn’t believe what my kids brought home in their buckets. The smallest suckers I have ever seen, quarter-inch long tootsie rolls, Stickers, and COUPONS for the stores. Really, really lame. I think we’ll pass on the mall next year.

She also brought Ryan the Darth Vader Voice Changer for his birthday. It is VERY cool! If you need a gift for a boy this Christmas I highly recommend this. You’ll get even more bonus points if you include some kind of light saber and/or the DVD of Star Wars Episode III.

Well, this post is going nowhere fast so that’s all from me. Tomorrow I’ll post some pictures of the kids in their costumes, you do the same ( or pictures of you in your costume!), okay?

Comments»

1. Nancy - October 31, 2005

I LOVE The Shining. My all-time favorite horror movie. I’ve never seen the remake, but it sounds good. I’ll have to rent it sometime soon since I didn’t have a chance to see it before Halloween.

2. Belinda - November 2, 2005

That’s a problem I have with Jack N. in The Shining, too. He comes into the thing already looking crazy, so it’s no stretch at all when it happens. Now just imagine the same movie with, say, Jimmy Stewart! Now stop laughing. Now imagine Jack N. in “Harvey.”


Leave a Reply

