jump to navigation

The June Cleaver Instruction Manual October 17, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Poking around on blogger led me to whitetrashmom.com, where I found this gem from Housekeeping Monthly circa 1955. If this is the kind of advice housewives (or I guess wives in general) were getting back then, it’s a wonder any marriages survived at all. Highlights:

#3 His boring day may need a lift and one of your duties is to provide it.

#6…catering for his comfort will provide you with immense personal satisfaction.

#7 (Your children) are little treasures and he would like to see them playing the part. Try to encourage the children to be quiet.

#10 Let him talk first-remember his topics of conversation are more important than yours.

#14 Don’t complain if he’s late home for dinner or even if he STAYS OUT ALL NIGHT (emphasis mine). Count this as minor compared to what he might have gone through that day.

Here’s the one that made my jaw drop all the way to the floor:

Don’t ask him questions about his actions or question his judgement or integrity. Remember, he is the MASTER OF THE HOUSE and as such will always exercise his will with fairness and truthfulness. YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO QUESTION HIM (again, emphasis mine.)

Okay now give me a minute to catch my breath and wipe my eyes…Whew! I wish my mother was alive so I could ask her if she remembers reading these kind of marriage tips in ladies’ magazines. Because I can’t tell if this was meant to be taken seriously or not. It does explain songs like “Mother’s Little Helper” by the Rolling Stones, although that was written in 1966.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go cater to my husband’s comfort and listen to his important topics of conversation.

Comments»

1. Mother GooseMouse - October 18, 2005

Oh yeah, that’s a goodie. Completely delusional.

2. cassie-b - October 18, 2005

If you get this twice, sorry. I don’t know if my comments were saved.

1955? I think that’s how it was. It’s how my mother felt. And she also thought it was better to be married to the wrong person than not to be married at all. And she also thought that if a girl was 23 and not married, what was wrong with her?

Cas

3. jess - October 18, 2005

nice. great bedtime reading . . .what a difference 50 years makes, eh?

4. Once More - October 19, 2005

easy stomach….

5. Nancy - October 19, 2005

I can’t even think of anything clever to say. This is just gross. I guess it was more appropriate then but it still makes my stomach turn.

6. Dawn - October 20, 2005

You forgot to mention that you would be giving him a blowjob when he walks in the door.

7. Beth - October 20, 2005

unreal. unreal. unreal.

8. Mabel - October 20, 2005

That is completely and totally scary. Ewe.

9. shelly - January 18, 2007

i love that recliner!

10. rachael - January 22, 2007

i love that rugs!


Leave a Reply

