jump to navigation

It’s A Nice Day For A… October 16, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

BC just left for a wedding, the details of which are just too good not to share. I realize that not everyone wants to have a “traditional” wedding, which is fine, but there are a few elements of this one that are really different.

The wedding is taking place in Frankenmuth, which is about the most touristy place there is in Michigan, besides Mackinac Island. It is best known as being the home of Bronners, and when they say the World’s Largest Christmas Store, they’re not kidding. Before there was online shopping, you needed to plan at least a whole day there and possibly the weekend.

Being a guy, and therefore generally uninterested in the specifics of other people’s weddings, he didn’t say exactly where the ceremony is taking place. I’m not even sure if there is a church involved, because the minister is a friend of the groom’s who got ORDAINED ON THE INTERNET specifically for the wedding. Apparently this person is interested in ministry but is gay, which I guess makes him ineligible for the traditional methods of ordination. It is nice that this person felt strongly enough about performing a marriage that he got ordained for it.

The “Best Man” is a long time friend of both BC and the groom. Her name is Stacy, and she is 9 weeks pregnant. She is both tired and nauseous. Yesterday was the “bachelor party”, a get-together at the Mall Food Court to play “Magic”, which is a role-playing card game. They have been getting together there for a few years now. When Ryan started second grade BC taught him how to play, and being the genius he is Ryan picked it up quickly and well enough to be invited to join the adult game. Which means that yesterday my NINE YEAR OLD SON went to what was technically a bachelor party. Thank God stripping isn’t allowed at the mall.

Again, since all my questions to BC regarding the wedding details were answered with “I don’t know”, I’m not sure where the reception is. Both Zehnder’s and the Bavarian Inn are likely, they have banquet facilities and serve large family-style meals. They are both famous for these enormous chicken dinners, and German food like Wiener Schnitzel and Sauerbraten. Throw in some beer and wedding cake and you’ve got yourself a reception.

By the way, I was invited, but I politely told the groom last week that as much as I wanted to be there, it was just too uncomfortable for me to travel. Which is true, I can’t even imagine how much my back, hips and legs would hurt after 1 1/2 hrs driving combined with sitting through the ceremony and reception. He was very understanding.

Finally, I learned last night that they intend to take a honeymoon, but haven’t planned one yet. Mostly because they haven’t found anyone to take care of their EIGHT CATS while they are gone. Have I mentioned they live in a small apartment?

So here’s the recap: Bachelor Party at the mall including my nine year old son, wedding in Michigan’s Little Bavaria performed by a gay Internet minister, best man a sick pregnant lady, Wiener Schnitzel and wedding cake, honeymoon postponed due to eight cats.

You just can’t make this stuff up.

Comments»

1. Beth - October 16, 2005

oh God… laughing so hard! esp. your son at the *bachelor party*!! hope they had enough mana points for the night!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Elizabeth - October 16, 2005

Oooh Beth you got my “Magic” reference! I checked with Ryan, he had more than enough mana ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Mother GooseMouse - October 16, 2005

It sounds interesting enough that I might have made the trip if I were in your shoes. Then again, I imagine that you are enjoying the solitude.


Leave a Reply

