jump to navigation

Happy Birthday Ryan! October 2, 2005

Posted by table4five in Uncategorized.
trackback

Dear Ryan,

Nine years ago, with your arrival into the world, Dad and I became a family. As much as we loved each other, having you made us complete. But it wasn’t easy getting you here.

You were actually due on October 4th. But Dr. W. saw how big you were getting and was worried about my high blood pressure, so on Tuesday, October 1st, he had me check into the hospital. We got there in the evening, I think around 6:00. The doctors there tried to get my labor started by softening my cervix. Although my water broke in the middle of that night, I didn’t go into labor. By morning I was started on Pitocin.

When the contractions started, they were very strong and painful. Daddy called Aunt Alisa who came over and held my other hand and helped me breathe. But my labor was not progressing and it didn’t look like you were ever coming out! Finally Dr. W. came in and said that because my water had broken but I wasn’t dilated enough to push, that I needed a c-section.

The happy ending to the story is that at 6:48 PM on Wednesday, Oct. 2nd, you were born. And Dr. W. wasn’t kidding about you being big! It’s hard to read in the picture but the scale says 8 lb. 14 oz. You didn’t even look like a newborn!

When the nurse put you in my arms, it was the first time I had ever held a newborn baby. I had no idea what to do with you! Dad was amazing.
He had no experience with babies either, yet he
held you all night while I slept. Grandma and Grandpa came to visit, and Nana was there the next morning. Everyone was so happy to meet you. We spent the next few days learning how to change your diaper, feed you a bottle, and swaddle you in the blankets. When it was time to go home, I wished I could bring one of the nurses with me. You were so small ( well, smaller than us!) and needed so much and I still felt like I didn’t know what I was doing. We were so nervous about giving you your first bath that we called a family friend who had been a pediatric nurse to come and help!

We figured out the swaddling thing. And how to give you a bath.

We gave you lots of hugs and kisses. And now it’s nine years later and you are all grown up!

The time has gone by so fast. You have become such an amazing young man that I’ll need to write a whole separate post about it. Having you in our life gives Dad and I such joy, you (and your brother) are still what makes us a family.

Happy Ninth Birthday, Ryan. Thanks for coming into this world and making me a Mom.

Comments»

1. Mother GooseMouse - October 3, 2005

How wonderful! I can hardly imagine how it feels to reminisce about your baby, who is now NINE!

Happy birthday to your big guy, and congrats to you!

2. Nixie Knox - October 3, 2005

What a sweet happy birthday message. I got a little choked up, I must admit! Isn’t it amazing how fast the time goes by?


Leave a Reply

