jump to navigation

Liveblogging from the Surgical Waiting Lounge August 22, 2006

Posted by table4five in Family, personal thoughts.
trackback

Hey guys, just wanted to update you all o my Dad’s surgery today. I’ve been sitting here for six hours, and then in come these two guys with wireless monitors and keyboards and now I’ve got an Internet connection. Because being unplugged was going to kill me, you know.

My Dad is out of surgery, we are waiting for the surgeon to get a pathology report back and for my Dad to be taken up to the ICU. The surgeon was able to remove the entire esophageal tumor without having to remove any stomach. He did, however, find a piece of small intestine that looked and felt abnormal, so he removed that as well. i don’t know yet what “abnormal” means exactly, but whatever it was it is out now.

Because his lungs had to be deflated during the surgery, the plan is to keep him sedated and on a breathing machine, I assume at least until tomorrow. Five hours in surgery is a lot of trauma for a person’s body, and they want him to rest without having to struggle to breathe. So I am bracing myself for the sight of him covered in tubes and wires, but I’ll take that over the alternative any day.

Thank you all for your suportive comments and emails. Just knowing that you are all out there thinking about me and my family today helps so much. I love you guys.

In a separate post, I have a story to tell you. You are NOT going to believe what I did this morning.

Comments»

1. tori - August 22, 2006

I’m glad things are going as well as they can be expected to! I have been thinking about you and wishing for the best! I am so sorry you have to go through all of this!

2. wordgirl - August 22, 2006

Having a loved one in the hospital makes you feel so helpless…so powerless. I’m sending all good thoughts your way. Speedy recovery to your Dad.

3. javajabber - August 22, 2006

I am glad things went well. I will say a prayer that whatever was going on with his intestines is totally gone now.

It’s not going to be easy to see your dad in ICU. Just keep in mind that he’s not feeling any pain and it’s going to look worse than it is.

When my husband had his bypass, I totally freaked out with all the wires, tubes, beeping, etc. By midnight, he was sitting up and asking for a cup of coffee (to force them to take the tube out of his throat no doubt!).

Take care of yourself during this time as well.

4. mamatulip - August 22, 2006

Elizabeth, you and your family have been in my thoughts. I’m so glad to hear that the surgery went well…keeping you all in my thoughts.

5. Jenny - August 22, 2006

Glad to hear things are going well.

My thoughts are with you and your family!

6. chris - August 22, 2006

sending my well wishes your way.

hope all the news from here in out is good news.

7. Arabella - August 23, 2006

Glad he made it through the surgery. It sounds like things may be looking up a bit.

8. Dawn - August 23, 2006

Thinking of you , sweetie

9. TB - August 23, 2006

I’ve been thinking about you guys this week and sending good vibes your way.

10. mothergoosemouse - August 23, 2006

Elizabeth, I’ve been thinking about you, and I’m glad to see the positive update.

11. Lanna - August 24, 2006

Sounds good so far (well, as good as anything like this can be).

12. Nancy - August 24, 2006

I am so glad everything has gone well. I’ve been trying to send virtual good vibes your way this week. Hugs to you and best wishes to your dad.

13. Stan - August 25, 2006

So glad everyone’s OK

14. Heidi - August 25, 2006

Glad they got it all.

15. Karl - August 27, 2006

I’m really out of touch lately…bloglines overfloweth. I hope your Dad is doing well.

16. halloweenlover - August 30, 2006

You poor thing, what a day. I’m so glad that your Dad made it through okay and I hope he continues to improve.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

