jump to navigation

There I go, meeting people again. August 16, 2006

Posted by table4five in I like me some people.
trackback

supermombook_.jpg

Tonight I went to Schuler’s Books and met Melanie Lynne Hauser, author of “Confessions of a Super Mom”. You might also know Melanie from her blog, her website, and/or her MySpace page. She does all that, plus she’s the Mother of two teenage boys!

Here’s Melanie telling us how she came up with the plot and characters, and about her writing process. She told us it took her a month of going about her daily activities but writing the book in her head before she started actually writing it.

melanie.JPG
She’s very excited about the paperback, because they are more affordable and “they fit in your purse”. The book has also been optioned, so it might be made into a movie or something. And there’s a sequel coming out next year!

melanie2.JPG

After passing a plate of fudge-striped shortbread cookies, she read us a passage from the book. If you haven’t read it, you can find it in any bookstore, on Amazon.com and also in the library. It has a little of everything-a divorced Mom with kids trying to balance work, parenting and romance, a mystery, a sub-plot about videogames and subliminal messages and why kids shouldn’t eat too much sugar, and a funny inside look at the PTA.

melanie3.JPG

One of my favorite parts of the evening was when Melanie talked about her MySpace page, and about blogging in general. She said something about Mommybloggers and a lady in the audience exclaimed “what? There are MOMMYBLOGGERS?” Whoo-hoo! Represent! After the talk was over, I gave my blog card to that lady, and on the back I had written the URLs for Mommybloggers, BlogHer, and ClubMom. She said she hadn’t started a blog, and I encouraged her to start one, and to come here and feel free to click through my blogroll. I told her that blogging was how women were meeting, supporting and sharing their common interests with each other. I felt like a Blog Ambassador.
I got Melanie’s autograph (“From one Super Mom and blogger to another!”), and asked someone to take our photo. No fair wearing those high platform sandals, Melanie!

memelanie.JPG

Check out Melanie’s sites to see if she’s coming to a bookstore near you. Her next stops are in Illinois and Indiana. I promise you’ll enjoy meeting her as much as I did!

By the way, I just uploaded a bunch of new photos to Flickr. Check ‘em out here!

Comments»

1. chris - August 17, 2006

Oh that looks like so much fun.

I am LOL about the “What, there are mommybloggers?” comment. SOmetimes you forget that the entire world doesn’t have a blog.

2. Heidi - August 17, 2006

What does your blog card look like? Now I want to make one.

3. Fraulein N - August 17, 2006

Chris, I thought the same thing. Heh. Elizabeth, you are definitely a Blog Ambassador.

4. Meagan Francis - August 17, 2006

Hi! I met you last night at Schuler and wanted to drop you a note to let you know I made it over to your blog…and then realized I’ve been here before! I even “know” one of your commenters (Hi, Chris!)

Anyway, it was nice running into you at the signing and maybe we’ll meet again one day!

5. mothergoosemouse - August 17, 2006

HOW COOL! What a great event. I haven’t been to a reading/signing in years. Even better to see MLH in person!

And I’m cracking up too about the “mommybloggers” question. Just wait until the world gets a peek at what we’re up to.

6. Amy - August 17, 2006

Oh, that sounds like fun! I always act like such the authority on blogging when it comes up in “mixed” company. Hee!

7. Chantal - August 18, 2006

So so jealous! Love Melanie Lynn.

8. wordgirl - August 19, 2006

I know there’s an awful lot that one could write about the PTA. Some good and some…NOT so good. As long as I’m laughing, I’m reading.

9. Mrs. Chicky - August 20, 2006

Whoot! Representin’ the Mommyblogs! Good job, Elizabeth. I’ve been thinking about picking up that book, maybe now I will.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

